Italian Sausage and Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I substituted 2 large zucchini for the yellow squash & small zucchini. After adding garlic, fresh mushrooms, and a small green bell pepper, I seasoned with Montreal Steak and served over rice. It's a quick, filling, and relatively inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wow, I knew I would like this but I was blown away by the intense flavors. Needless to say, I love this and it will become a regular part of my vegetable intake. I used 3oz of hot italian sausage, 1 zucchini, 1 yellow squash, 1 can of tomatoes with chilies and jabanero cubes, 1/2 an onion,1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, and 1 tsp montreal steak seasoning, and two cloves of garlic. I cooked the sausage and onion together until sausage was browned and onion was transparent. Added the remaining ingredient. To the pot and covered. When it started to boil, I turned down the heat to lowand let it cook for 20-25 minutes. To stir I would merely twist the contents withou lifting the lid lest all of the built up steam escape and hinder the cooking process. As I served up this delectible vegetable medley, I will top it off with greated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrangeHatGuy
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I added half a red onion and a hungarian hot pepper both coarsely chopped, and spiced to my own tastes. The wife loved it and this will be regular addition to our home dinner menu. Overall the dish was fantastic, but the rotini did not work the way I had foreseen. I may use rotini again, but I'll add less of it and toss it with the dish, rather than serve one atop the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was good, but slightly bland. I added a generous teaspoon of italian seasoning, but I think this dish could also use some garlic. My sausage casings came off easily, so I just crumbled the sausage rather than slicing. This dish came together quickly and was very filling when served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent! I did not have enough Italian sausage, so added one can of Great Northern beans.. added good texture, color, and flavor. Thanks for sharing this recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Excellant and easy! I'm sure I would give it 5 stars exactly as written, but I did make some changes, according to personal preferences. I used turkey Italian sausage and squeezed it out of the skins and browned it, so had a crumble rather than slices. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1 teaspoon each of basil, oregano, thyme, and garlic - also 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning. I added one red bell pepper, chopped. Prepared it early in the day, then heated it in 300 degree oven for 30 minutes. Served with rice, but will try it with egg noodles next time. Thanks, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious recipe in which I used hillshire turkey sausages and diced tomatoes instead of stewed and added oregano with no onions....ABSOLUTELY delicious, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! I have been making it for 10 years, I originally found it in a Taste of Home magazine and have been making it faithfully since then. I typically use only zucchini and diced tomatoes (canned) with or without italian seasoning (whatever I happen to have on hand). Sometimes I serve it with rice, but the rest of the family prefers angel hair pasta. I eat mine separate from the pasta (butter & parmesan cheese on my pasta), but my husband likes his on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was excellent. Granted, I made quite a few changes from the recipe. My modifications: added oregano, basil, and sage; used brocolli and mushrooms instead of zucchini; added garlic; used 2 cans diced tomatoes. I served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Now this is supper in a flash! Good, simple dish with just a few basic ingredients, good for any reason, but especially when time (and energy!) is at a premium. In the interest of preparing this as quickly as possible I simmered the sausage in water for 15 minutes before browning them in a little olive oil. I also added fresh minced garlic to the vegetables. The aroma was intoxicating. I had mine on its own (well, except for a nice glass of Cabernet Sauvignon), Hubs had his over penne pasta. Flavorful and satisfying. (Some of that red wine would also have been delicious added to the dish itself!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States