Italian Sausage and Peppers with Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lamchopme
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious, the only thing this recipe didn't mention for the amateur cook, is to cut the sausage after it has cooked a little bit, otherwise the sausage gets mushy while trying to cut it raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamchopme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This recipe was most delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of the following: added about a half pound of crimini mushrooms. Instead of the spaghetti sauce I used a large can of whole tomatoes that I cut up into smaller pieces. Also used about 8-10 cloves of garlic. One of the best recipes I've gotten on this site. Having the leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Luke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soquel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very, very good! The only changes I made were to add mushrooms. You definetly want fresh parmesean to sprinkle over the pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
So excellent! Quick and Easy. My whole family loved it! We used whole wheat penne and a red and green pepper. We also used spicy sausage. This one is surely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mishenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Delicious... definitely a 4 1/2 star recipe... Not quite 5. Made the recipe as per directions. My family likes dishes a little bit spicier. The traditional Prego sauce isn't spicy enough, so next time I will add 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes. Also, will add 1 more small jar of Prego - the penne needs more sauce to cover adequately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is by far my favorite recipe EVER! I used sweet Italian sausage and added a few shakes of Franks Red Hot and it turned out DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. I didn't have any green or red peppers so I added a can of diced tomatoes with chillies to the sauce instead. It was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanne
Living In: Cyrus, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is good. I make a big batch and freeze in small containers for weeknight meals. It's well-balanced, with veggies that my picky toddler will eat, so it works well for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Excellent! The only change I made was adding some red pepper flakes. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I would pay for this at a restaurant, this is outstanding. Only made a few changes...added fresh garlic, mushrooms, basil, crushed red pepper and extra sauce. You can tweak this recipe to your liking..next time I will throw in some zucchini also. This recipe is even better the next day which for me is shocking because I don't like leftovers. I would try this one you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States