Italian Sausage and Peppers with Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I really enjoy trying new recipes, and while most I try out are good, rarely do they make the cut of becoming a "regular". This recipe is so good, I will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half for our family of 4, used half a green pepper and half a red, added in fresh mushrooms, a clove of garlic, and a dash of red pepper flakes. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Made this for my family last night. They enjoyed it, we love sauce so I added alittle more than the receipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great and Easy recipe. I changed the recipe a little. First, I browned the whole sausage for about 5 minutes. Then I took them out to slice. Second, I sauteed the vegetables and the sliced sausage all together in the pan. We love garlic! I also added 3 cloves of fresh pressed garlic. Then, I added a can of Italian diced tomatoes and a can of tomato and chile, a pinch of basil and oregano. I added pepper flakes for flavor. We like it a little spicy. It was a little too thick so I added half a jar of Prego sauce. Then I simmered it for about 30 minutes. Hmmmm delicious! Served over the pasta with fresh grated parmesan and fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is pretty much just like the way I make my 'sausage and peppers rustica', except that I boil the sausage so that it's easier to cut into slices, and so I know it's cooked all the way through. This is a recipe that uses simple, everyday ingredients, but tastes like you spent a lot more time on it than you actually did. Great for an easy weeknight meal or to serve to company...this is one of my hubby's favorite pasta dishes~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by allnew2020
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My second attempt at making this dish was excellent my family likes this one alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allnew2020

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Simple & yummy! I used the sweet Italian sausage & added minced garlic & hot pepper flakes when I added the sauce to the skillet. I also used one red pepper, one green pepper & half of one onion thinly sliced (that's how my husband prefers the onion cooked & he's not crazy about too much onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
For a quick meal that didn't take too many ingredients this was very satisfying. I used turkey italian sausage and chunky mushroom prego sauce. Certainly made my hectic night a little easier, and I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Have been making something similar to this for years - it is fantastic. I have used either hot or sweet Italian sausage, whatever is available, and add red pepper as necessary to bring up the heat. In cooking the sausage, I slit the casing and remove the sausage so that it cooks like ground beef. Oh, and I also add mushrooms, sliced - gotta love the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Have made this several times and it is good - so easy and quick. Do prefer other sauces rather than Prego (e.g. Barilla Marinara) and also add mushroom and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I didn't user the oil just cooked my sausage, peppers and onion together. I also used a jar and a half of Ragu (I didn't have Prego) as we thought it needed more sauce. I added moz cheese, cheddar and parm cheese. We all enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States