Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this twice and both times it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made this the first time and doubled it. Used canned diced tomatoes instead and some salt to taste. Everyone said it was the best soup they ever had and went back for second and 3rd helpings. Super hearty and perfect for a cold winter day. This is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Amazing! It was a cold winter evening and this soup was perfect, even without the carrots (forgot at the store) and green pepper (not a fan). I went overboard on the Italian (turkey) sausage and used a pound, and a 20 pkg of fresh packaged tortellini, so it will last us for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is by far my go to meal soup! Such depth of flavours. The wine, beef, tomatoes, cheesy tortellini and mmm Parmesan on top! Just plain awesomeness in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I am a big recipe follower and don't stray too much. I used three hot italian sausages, didn't have red wine, used a can of oregano, basil and garlic diced tomatoes, not drained, and I stuck to the rest of the recipe as is. Absolutely delicious. The hot sausage gives it just a little bite. Definitely going into my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Just finished making and eating this soup. It tasted really great. It was easy to make, which was a plus.. We will be making it again. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so I used one large can of diced tomatoes. When I went shopping I forgot to get a green pepper, so I put in chopped celery instead. Every thing else was according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I omitted the wine and took another reviewers advice and used 1/2 chicken & beef stock. I loaded it up with veggies and served it with garlic bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
great flavor simple to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought this was good, but the kids didn't like the broth, even my guy that usually loves everything I make. I think it had too much tomato sauce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this recipe the first time as written and this was a good, solid soup! The second time I tweaked it a little to our tastes. I make my tweaked version frequently for a great meal, and I love the leftovers for a quick healthy lunch! I make a double batch, and use a whole pack of mild turkey Italian sausage (with a dash of red pepper flakesif I can't find hot Italian sausage). Instead of the fresh tomatoes, I use a can of petite diced tomatoes per batch. I have used all low sodium beef STOCK [not BROTH], or half low sodium beef and half low sodium vegetable stock (cause I ran out of beef stock in the process of cooking, but I had vegetable stock on hand), and we love both versions. I add 1/2 teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the seasoning mix, per batch (so a whole teaspoon for double). We like fresh kale in this soup instead of the zucchini, and it ups the heartiness. My husband always comments how great this smells when he comes home from work, and hits the pot with a spoon tasting almost immediately. Instead of adding the tortellini to the pot, I put the frozen tortellini in the bottom of the serving bowls and ladle the hot soup over the cold pasta. After about 2 minutes, the pasta is perfect and the soup was cool enough to eat. Some fresh Parmesan and a little multigrain bread and a GREAT DINNER!! If I am eating the leftovers the next day, I just measure out about 1/2 cup frozen tortellini to the bowl and microwave! This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States