Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
YUM-O! This was excellent! I used hot italian sausage and skipped the wine. I also added a package of frozen corn, red peppers and black beans (came mixed together). Also used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green peppers and garlic instead of fresh tomatoes. Added some red pepper flakes and used boxed cheese and spinach tortellini. Oh, and I put in a whole package of fresh baby spinach around 5 minutes before it was done. This soup is great because you can add just about anything you like. It was so delicious and filling. This is a definite keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is as good or better than any soups we've had in Italy. My Italian husband loved it, and with all of the vegetables it's truly a healthy meal, even with the sausage! Easy to modify (I added additional tortellini and vegetables to make it even heartier), and keeps well for additional meals. Thank you, Tim, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this twice. The first time I used an iron skillet and hubby cooked sausage on grill. I sauted onions and garlic in pan. Then added red cooking wine and beef broth and let it boil for a while. Then, I added the sausage and let it cook a little longer. Then I put in crock pot and put in seasonings and tomato sauce. I left out the tomatoes. I let it cook for a couple hours more. Kids loved it. It got left out overnight and I had to throw it out. :( Second batch I used chicken broth and cooked the sausage in the skillet. I put it in the crock pot again with the sauted veggies and instead of tomato sauce I just added a whole jar of spaghetti sauce! I left it thin enough to be a soup and the seasoning were enough to keep it tasting great. The second batch was a little oilier because of the cooking the sausage inside in a skillet rather than the grill. I think the flavor of sausage was better the first time, but the spaghetti sauce worked great. Then second batch I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cavoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This is indeed really, really good! I am a stickler for following a recipe to the letter the first time (I do not understand how people can trash a recipe and then go on at length about what they did or didn't do - it just isn't fair!)and I wouldn't change a thing. Maybe add some fresh spinach or mushrooms? Thanks Tim for an excellent addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Delicious! This is the second time I have made this. First time, true to the recipe and second time, a few moderations. Both ways, though, you can't go wrong! This time I: ~used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh to save time ~out of red wine, used extra broth ~added a teaspoon of creole seasoning to bump up the flavor ~to cut calories I used turkey italian link sausage I put everything but the tortellini in a crock pot and let it simmer on low all day while at work. When I came home, I pulled the sausage out and sliced it, boiled the tortellini and added it, then added in 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch to 1/4 cup of water to thicken it up a bit. Topped it all with a little dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar with blue tortilla chips on the side and viola! Dinner served with so little effort... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Out of the last 3 "5 star" rated soup recipes that I have tried the past 3 nights, this is the only one that deserves 5 stars, according to my family of 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I used half beef and half chicken broth, canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, dried pasta and I added some fresh baby spinach the last 5 minutes cooking. This was a great soup.....and it makes a ton. Hubby is looking forward to leftovers! Thanks Tim for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I've made this recipe twice; but the 2nd time around I used about 3 1/2 Cups broth, and during the last 10 minutes of simmer, I added 1/2 Cup heavy whipping cream, and it was really, really good. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This soup was fantastic. Made it as written, with the addition of a little more sausage, used bulk italian instead of link. We made this for our daughter and son in law when they came in for christmas, they loved it. Stuck the left overs in the fridge and after they left we had some for dinner, the tortalinnis sucked up all the juice, just took some out of the bowl, added more beef stock and reheated, was even better. One thing I made a mistake was, went to the store to buy beef broth and grabbed chicken instead. Didn't notice till I was making it, added that andtwo tsp of beef crystal broth, was the bomb. Will definatley make again. Tried it cold before warming up and great flavor, could even serve it without being a soup with cheese sprinkled on top, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
The beauty of this type of soup, beside the fact that it’s incredibly satisfying as well as delicious (I dare you to stop at just one bowl of this), is that it lends itself so well to adaptation, so as to make use of whatever odds and ends of pasta or vegetables you have on hand. In this instance, I was able to add some beautiful, rich juices left after slow cooking a beef roast yesterday with tomatoes, red wine and beef broth. I also used quite a bit more sausage than the recipe directed. Unless your tomatoes are very red and ripe, difficult in April, I would suggest using a good, canned tomato instead, preferably San Marzano, which is what I did today. I passed on the tomato sauce. I didn’t have zucchini and I don’t care for carrots (no, I mean to say I hate carrots) so I didn’t use them, filling the “gap” instead with celery (the leaves too!) and baby spinach, which I added toward the end. I used fresh oregano and basil because I was lucky enough to have it growing. I didn’t have cheese tortellini (Hubs hates it) but I did have some cute little mini beef ravioli, which filled in nicely. I cooked the ravioli separately, then added it at the end, so it wouldn’t absorb too much broth. There is no right or wrong way to make this soup, BUT…to be authentic you MUST add the freshly grated Parmesan upon serving. I had intended to serve this tonight with a salad and Italian bread, but we found this completely satisfying without either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States