Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good! I forgot to buy fresh parsley and parmesan cheese so maybe that is the difference between my 4 star rating and a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
The beauty of this type of soup, beside the fact that it’s incredibly satisfying as well as delicious (I dare you to stop at just one bowl of this), is that it lends itself so well to adaptation, so as to make use of whatever odds and ends of pasta or vegetables you have on hand. In this instance, I was able to add some beautiful, rich juices left after slow cooking a beef roast yesterday with tomatoes, red wine and beef broth. I also used quite a bit more sausage than the recipe directed. Unless your tomatoes are very red and ripe, difficult in April, I would suggest using a good, canned tomato instead, preferably San Marzano, which is what I did today. I passed on the tomato sauce. I didn’t have zucchini and I don’t care for carrots (no, I mean to say I hate carrots) so I didn’t use them, filling the “gap” instead with celery (the leaves too!) and baby spinach, which I added toward the end. I used fresh oregano and basil because I was lucky enough to have it growing. I didn’t have cheese tortellini (Hubs hates it) but I did have some cute little mini beef ravioli, which filled in nicely. I cooked the ravioli separately, then added it at the end, so it wouldn’t absorb too much broth. There is no right or wrong way to make this soup, BUT…to be authentic you MUST add the freshly grated Parmesan upon serving. I had intended to serve this tonight with a salad and Italian bread, but we found this completely satisfying without either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The soup was really good. It was loaded with lots of veggies and filling... Only thing I did different was add one bunch of chopped up kale to the pot. I had some and thought it would be a nice addition, which it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I recommend using a spicier sausage for more flavor. I used 4 plum tomatoes, 12 oz of tortellini and 3 sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is totally amazing. Sometimes I change it and use hot sausage instead of the sweet sausage and I use 1 cup of my home made salsa instead of the tomato sauce and it is good too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! I love soups, too, and I this just became our new favorite! Other than using canned tomatoes, I followed recipe exact. My suggestion is to drain sausage on paper towels before returing to the pot to sop up the excess grease. Thanks for the recipe, Tim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was delicious. My whole family loved it. As per other reviewers, I did put more Italian sausage in the soup and I used turkey sausage instead of regular to cut down on fat/calories. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My boyfriend and I loved it! I altered the recipe based on what I had in the kitchen: Cucumber instead of zucchini, hot Italian sausage instead of sweet, and canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. I used 2C chicken broth and 3C beef broth. The broth seemed a bit salty and flat during simmering, so I added some pepper, Worchester sauce, and a Tsp of honey during simmering to add flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Fantastic....Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States