Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I omitted the wine and took another reviewers advice and used 1/2 chicken & beef stock. I loaded it up with veggies and served it with garlic bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
great flavor simple to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought this was good, but the kids didn't like the broth, even my guy that usually loves everything I make. I think it had too much tomato sauce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this recipe the first time as written and this was a good, solid soup! The second time I tweaked it a little to our tastes. I make my tweaked version frequently for a great meal, and I love the leftovers for a quick healthy lunch! I make a double batch, and use a whole pack of mild turkey Italian sausage (with a dash of red pepper flakesif I can't find hot Italian sausage). Instead of the fresh tomatoes, I use a can of petite diced tomatoes per batch. I have used all low sodium beef STOCK [not BROTH], or half low sodium beef and half low sodium vegetable stock (cause I ran out of beef stock in the process of cooking, but I had vegetable stock on hand), and we love both versions. I add 1/2 teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the seasoning mix, per batch (so a whole teaspoon for double). We like fresh kale in this soup instead of the zucchini, and it ups the heartiness. My husband always comments how great this smells when he comes home from work, and hits the pot with a spoon tasting almost immediately. Instead of adding the tortellini to the pot, I put the frozen tortellini in the bottom of the serving bowls and ladle the hot soup over the cold pasta. After about 2 minutes, the pasta is perfect and the soup was cool enough to eat. Some fresh Parmesan and a little multigrain bread and a GREAT DINNER!! If I am eating the leftovers the next day, I just measure out about 1/2 cup frozen tortellini to the bowl and microwave! This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Amazing amazing amazing, thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Good soup. You can skip the pasta and add more veggies if you want -- that's what I did. Added spinach, green beans and peas, and skipped the zucchini. Used canned tomatoes, doubled the sausage and threw in a pinch of red pepper flakes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Ive made this recipe a few times. My boyfriend who hates veggies absolutely loves this soup. I also tweak my recipes so that's the only reason this got 4 stars. I don't like to rate a 5 if I have changed anything. Basically I add about 7-10 different vegetables, whatever I have on hand (spinach,peppers,kidney beans, zucchini, carrots etc) and omit the red wine because I never usually have any. My family loves it and its a great meal on a cold Canadian day. Thanks for this recipe and all the tips that comes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Fantastic soup! We loved this! Served with crusty bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Good Stuff! I used Jimmy Dean Italian Sausage; 1/4 c red wine; diced canned tomatoes; kale instead of zucchini; no Parmesan cheese. Adopt changes to your taste; this hearty soup will still turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Amazing! My wife and I made this and had to have a second helping. Very easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States