Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Opt for fresh veggies rather than frozen if you have time. It's missing something. I am not a big fan of tomatoes, so in the future, I will use only one can and add an extra can of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
So easy, easy, easy to make and it tastes great! My mother and my mother-in-law both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe was pretty tasty and easy to make. I too found it difficult to find frozen Italian blend vegetables, so I chopped and sauteed onion and zucchini, then added some frozen chopped spinach and frozen chopped green onion as a substitute. I also thought that this stew needed a touch of acidity (it seemed bland, heavy on umami, and lacking depth in flavor), so I would recommend adding a splash of red wine vinegar. I also added a generous pinch of red pepper flakes and some black pepper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Easy, quick, & tasty! Add in some red pepper flakes, fresh garlic, oregano, basil, thyme & pepper and you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Our family loved this recipe! I used turkey sausage, put some fresh spinich, leftover potatoes and added large butter beans. We have been eating it for 3 days, and it gets better each time. For a family who has just hit hard times this recipe makes it easy to serve a great, healthy, affordable meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
soo soo easy, and soo soo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was very easy and surprisingly good. Cooked sausage then just dumped everything into a slow cooker and let it simmer a couple hours til we were ready to eat. I did add a few cloves of fresh garlic and cooked some rotelle noodles al dente prior to dumping them into the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe as is, though I had to make a few modifications to suit our taste. Instead of diced tomatoes I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce. I also added about 1 tbsp of Italian seasoning. I omitted the mixed vegetables and just used kidney beans. And I added egg noodles (like the picture shows) as well. I only used 1 can of the beef broth and only about 2/3 of the sausage roll and it was plenty for just my husband and I. Thanks for a great base, I had fun with this one and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Walton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a very easy meal. However I was confused. The picture shows what looks like egg noodles, but the recipe didn't call for any, so at the last minute I left them out. I also added 2 cloves of garlic, 1 can white (great northern) beans, and a tablespoon of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a very easy yet tasty and filling stew. I have made it both with pork sausage and with turkey sausage for a leaner option, and it is wonderful both ways. My major complaint is that it definitely needs seasonings and spices. I have added a large clove of garlic to a half-recipe, as well as some parsley, basil, oregano, and crushed red pepper, and that improved the taste significantly. Also, the "serving sizes" seem to be waaaaaaay off. When scaling the recipe down to what is supposedly two servings, it feeds my husband and I for three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States