Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great recipe. I did not have fresh herbs so used dry and don't think I used enough, I also used turkey sausage, half hot and half sweet to cut calories and fat. Next time I will used organic canned tomatoes and perhaps sub some other veggie other than squash, maybe kale since I have it growing in wine barrels in the back yard. Smells delightful when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The best soup I've ever made. I think the success of the soup depends on the sausage you use. If you use a spicy sausage, it will be extremely spicy after it simmers for 70 minutes. If you use a bland sausage, the result will be bland. If you're not familiar with the sausage you are using, microwave a small portion and taste it so you can make adjustments. Excellent recipe. Thank you Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Loved this soup. I stuck to the recipe and it was great. Comments should be limited to people who stick to the recipe. Why give a rating when: use hot italian sausage instead of sweet using chicken stock instead of beef broth Canned vs. fresh tomatoes 6 oz can of tomato paste vs tomato sauce If you want to give comments to the creator of this recipe stick to the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Good but not great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
FABULOUS! Ok I'm the type of cook that doesn't really measure and I have a hard time following the recipe EXACTLY, its just one of those things, thats why I usually don't rate anything. Well I made meatballs from 93% ground beef mixed with sweet italian sausage and browned them. Then I sauteed the garlic, onion, carrots and some celery together, then added the sliced yellow and green zucchini and added italian seasoning and little sea salt, sprinkled a little corn starch on everything (so it would be a bit thinker) and mixed in 2 cans diced tomatoes. By accident I used canned tomatoes with diced with green chilis but I LIKE the little spice it gave. XTRA wine and a can of tomato sauce. YUMMY!!!!!! PLEASE Don't get me wrong... I am not saying this is better than the original recipe, I just like what happened in my kitchen as I started to cook. and wanted to share. ITS A KEEPER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG! This soup is amazing. The flavor in this soup was so rich and hearty. This is perfect for fall and winter but I will make it year round for sure. This recipe will be used oftern. I followed the instructions except for the tomatoes. I used a large can of whole pear toms in juice (did not use the juice). The tomatoes at the store were not looking good. It is a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gariharmison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG!! This was fabulous. My husband is a meat and potatoes guy and was not crazy about the idea of having soup for dinner. BUT, he loved it and wants to have it again regularly. I used Italian turkey sausage and added a few frozen turkey meatballs, deleted the squash and added some fresh corn cut off the cob. It was spectacular. I am going to serve it for a ladies party that I am having next week instead of a boring chicken casserole. This is the ultimate comfort food. Thanks for sharing. I served it with garlic bread and fresh greens salad. FORGOT to mention that I used no salt canned tomatoes and low sodium beef broth and it was seasoned just right. Not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe was so wonderful!!! Made a few small changes - instead of wine since I can not have any I used cranberry/apple juice and there was no difference. To save time I also used diced tomatoes and minced garlic from a jar. Otherwise everything else stayed the same. When I have more time I will use everything fresh and see if there is a difference in the taste. My husband loved this and it has been added into our recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
OMG! This is great my first time making a homemade soup and what a way to start. My only down fall is I should have cut the recipe in half made a lot more than I expected. I did use roma tomatoes because this is not tomatoe season and the roma's looked a better nice and red. I used the technique one of the reviews gave for easy peeling. Thanks. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent as is printed in the recipe. Tried this soup and it was absolutely delicious. If you like these ingredients, you will love this soup. AD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States