Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Divine! Sublime!! LOVED this soup!!! No changes needed though perhaps a suggestion? Use 6 cups of beef broth versus 5 and add only as much tortellini as you plan on eating at each serving. The soup literally sopes up the broth, so if you have leftovers (which are even BETTER the next day) you have no broth as the tortellini has absorbed it! Thanks to Mary P - my hat's off to you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
564 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
WOW! Delicious! Everyone LOVED this soup and went back for seconds. I served it with the foccacia bread recipe from this site, YUM! Only thing I changed was used broth instead of water and added 1 cup of spinach. To make it more practical I just used 3 cans beef broth which is a little over 5 cups. 2 medium sized carrots equals 1 cup and 1 medium sized zucchini equals 1.5 cups. I used petite cut diced canned tomatoes, drained - about a can and a half was perfect! DO NOT add any salt to this soup - I used low-sodium broth and it was a tad too salty for me. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This is one of the best soups I have ever made! Quick tip-to peel your tomatoes slice a criss-cross on the top of the tomato and drop it into boiling water for just a few seconds, drain them and put them immediately in an ice bath. The skins will come right off, and then you can cut them in half and squeeze the seeds out. This is a must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This soup is absolutely amazing! The first time I made it I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and sweet Italian sausage... The second time I used hot sausage and took the time to peel/seed fresh tomatoes...it was worth it! The second soup was much better! I found the canned tomatoes to overpower the broth... and the hot sausage added a great kick! I want to make it over and over... serve with crusty bread and the rest of the bottle of wine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!! SERVE WITH CRUSTY BREAD AND BUTTER. CAN USE DRIED HERBS. DON'T ADD MORE SALT OR PEPPER AS IT IS SPICEY AS IS FOR MOST FOLKS. I THICKENED IT A LITTLE WITH A TB. OF CORNSTARCH, BECAUSE WE LIKE OUR BROTH A LITTLE THICKER. ALSO USED 16 OZ. OF FROZEN TORTELLINI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used 4 links of spicy italian sausage, used 2 cups of chicken broth for some of the beef becasue I had some in the fridge, omitted the water, used a shiraz for the wine & increased it a bit, used dry basil, used frozen squash slices for the zuchinni, added some frozen sugar snap peas (cut in half), used parmesan-filled tortellini & added additional liquids because I made some additions to the recipe. (talk about a run-on sentence...I can feel all you English teachers wincing! LOL) This made a huge pot so I pulled enough out to feed hubby & I & then added the tortellini to our portions. (I didn't want the tortellini to get sogged out if frozen in soup)...freezing the rest before the peas & squash were fully cooked. It should be good as new when thawed. Served it w/ some parmesan breadsticks, a glass of shiraz & a salad....thanks Mary P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This is WONDERFUL. I have made this soup several times and it has turned out great every time. I have used both canned tomatos as well as seeding and peeling them myself. I don't think I noticed a distinct difference. Saves time to just used canned. This soup has great flavor - and is very filling. I have used it as the main course with some crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I was encouraged to try this particular recipe based upon the enthusiastic reviews of my cooking club.Thank you for the recommendation, guys... and thank you so much for your submission Mary P.! I think this is a definite five- star- keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I thought this was just ok, but Hubs particularly liked this as it is indicative of the rich, tomato-based, boldly flavored soups he's so fond of. I loosely followed the recipe, but used fresh herbs and my own tomato sauce from my garden rather than the fresh tomatoes and canned tomato sauce. This is the sort of good old-fashioned soup that begs to be tinkered with, using whatever you have on hand so everything gets used and nothing goes to waste. So many vegetables would work with this and a a can of cannellini or ceci (garbanzo) beans would be nice too. This is a little more "robust" than I personally tend to like, but after one spoonful just to taste (we're actually having this tomorrow) Hubs said, "Oh ye-aah. This is just the way I like it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Here's my take on this wonderful recipe.....Used canned petite tomatos,corn,italian green beans and bow tie pasta....everything else was by the recipe!! FABULOUS!!!!!!!! The aroma in my kitchen even had the dogs mouth watering!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States