Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe!!! I have made it as is and it it perfect. I have changed it a couple times only because I didn't have tortellini or tomato sauce. I used bow tie pasta and I can tomato paste and upped the water to 1 cup. I just made it again for dinner tonight. Almost done. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!! I'm giving 5 stars because the only two changes I made were small and per my family's tastes: smoked sausage instead of Italian and omitting the red wine. I'm glad I doubled the recipe! Served with caprese salad and crusty bread for a wonderful, light meal! My only recommendation would be to adjust salt and pepper seasoning at the end because different sausages may be saltier than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious!! I used 3 cheese tortellini in it when I made it and also only used 3 tomatoes because I had purchased some quite large beef steak tomatoes. Prep was quite a bit of work for me, but I'm new to the cooking game. I would definitely make this recipe again! Incredibly yummy! Next time I might use a broth with less sodium though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family did not like this. I used the dry version instead of fresh tortellini, so that may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I loved this - I used red peppers instead of carrots and forgot the tomato sauce. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Amazing soup. I used a 15oz can of stewed tomatoes and it also turned out great. Plus I dished out amount needed for dinner and then added tortellini to meal. This allowed me to save the extra and not have the tortellini go soggy. Even without the tortellini it is sooooooo good! Dried spices also work great if you don't have fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Wow, this was really fantastic! I only used 32 oz of Kitchen Basics brand Beef Stock. I should have added another 2 cups because my soup seemed kind of chunky. It needed more broth. I used fresh tomatoes, as the recipe called for. I started it really early (around 2:30 pm). Just let it simmer until dinner time. The broth was to die for. Reminded me of the sauce in Beef Bourginion. My advice, use a really good brand of beed broth/stock and do not leave the wine out. It will not be the same. It's such a dark and rich broth. I will most definitely make this again. You could also make this with kale instead of zucchini. I might even like that better. I removed the casing from the sausage and then cut it in little bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Excellent and quick and easy to make. I added my onions to the sausage when the sausage was about 1/2 way cooked. I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh, and used low sodium beef broth (4 cups cause that's what I had) I used fresh oregano. And added water as needed, about 1 1/2 cups. I also added a handful of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I would have taken a picture but it was all gone by the time I could snap the shot. Yumm-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We really liked this recipe-definetly a keeper. I used canned diced tomatoes and frozen tortelli for convenience and it was still terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States