Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I have been making this one for two years and never rated it. Made this at work for co-workers, next door neighbors tried it, made it again the next day then their clients tried it and made it again the following week. Change nothing!! Great for parties, potlucks or even showing off your cooking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I had to add tomato paste (about 8 ozs) as some others said and also some Better than Bouillon beef au jus starter (which I think is better than their plain beef flavor) to make this soup taste richer and more flavorful. I also added a package of fresh baby spinach. If I make it again I'll replace some of the beef broth with a can of beef consommé for richer flavor. I am boiling the tortellini separate and will add it to the soup to avoid it sucking up all the liquid. I used all fresh ingredients at the end of the summer (fresh organic heirloom tomatoes, fresh basil & parsley from my own herb garden, fresh organic zucchini and so forth). I was hoping it would have a better flavor all on its own per the reviews but it certainly needed some sprucing up -- hence the three star rating. Served with crusty, cheesy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I always add some olive oil sauteed mushrooms in as well, adds a nice texture/flavor to this already incredible soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I didn't even add the tortellini. I added orzo and it was I assume lighter, but GREAT! My husband loved it and I actually got him to eat all the fresh vegetables that were unit! So, it rates as a definite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrillm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I used frozen tortellini and threw in a bit of salt to suit my taste. I mixed red and yellow tomatoes because that is what I had from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this for a soup potluck. It was the first one gone, and the recipe was asked for many times. It was really good, kids loved it too! Can't go wrong the Italian sausage, it must be my favorite ingredient to cook with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I'm making this for the 2nd time in 2 weeks upon family request. Such an easy and healthy recipe. I added any extra veggies that I had in the refridge. Great way to use up anything that is getting too ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is one of the best recipes yet. Made this a few times, it is a huge hit. Added more tortellini only because it comes in bigger packages, other than that no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe; everything was absolutely delicious. I ended up using spicy Italian sausages, which gave the dish a great kick. I would recommend using a nice merlot red wine for the ultimate depth of taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Archambault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States