Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this yesterday and it turned out super. I un-cased the sausage and put it into a mixing bowl. I used a stiff spatula to knead it for a couple of minutes. Somehow this makes is snappy. I made two 1/2 lb. 6 inch patties and seared them in an untreated skillet. Went back to the soup and had to add a little olive oil to sauté the onions and garlic. When I got to the point that I wanted to add the sausage the patties had cooled a little. I stacked them one on top of the other and cut them into bite sized pieces. I was amazed that they stayed together in spite of being rare inside. I added them to the soup and followed the directions. When the soup was done the bite sized pieces cooked up nicely in the simmering broth. I though it added a nice visual effect to the soup and I also like the snap when you bite into the pieces. Thanks Mary P for a great recipe and to the folks from Cook's Illustrated for bringing this method of treating pork sausage to my attention. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic! The whole family loved it. It's definitely worth doing all by scratch. However, it did take me longer than the 20 min. prep time that the recipe stated--probably twice that much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is fantastic! When you make it don't change anything. I did use Italian sausage tortellini. My son said it tasted like stouffers sausage French bread pizza in liquid form. :) just perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used 6 small-medium links of mild Italian turkey sausage (next time I will use spicy Italian sausage). I used all dried seasonings and canned diced tomatoes. I used 3 cans of beef broth (6 cups) low sodium and thought this was the perfect amount of salt (might be too salty for some- that's how I prefer it). I didn't add water or wine and could not tell the difference. I also omitted the zucchini and added spinach towards the end. Great way to get veggies in and stay full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wow! what a lovely soup.THE RECIPE was right on. Changes I made were minimal. had some chicken stock left added that to the beef stock. added fresh mushrooms and spinnach. Did not have fresh parsley used fresh celantro. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely amazing! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great big success! I did use can tomatoes, but still very good. It is a have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yum! We loved this soup. I doubled the garlic and used one can of drained plain petite diced tomatoes instead of the fresh (I didn't have them), but other than that followed exactly and it was awesome! Rich flavor and hearty. Served with baked garlic bread for dipping, and chopped salad. It was a great! Defintitely with make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brandstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Grove, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
To add nutrition, we add a couple of cans of beans--great northern and kidney. We also add fresh spinach right before we eat it. My husband loves the pasta, but I find it gets soggy...so only add what you are going to eat right away. I make it in the crock pot and it makes the entire house smell amazing! I make enough for us to eat it for lunch all week and it keeps wonderfully---if you don't add the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My family gives this recipe a double thumbs up! Delicious with some of the changes that others mentioned. I used 4 cans of beef broth, a cup of water and a 1/2 cup red wine because I too wanted extra broth. I used fresh baby spinach instead of zucchini. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of stewed tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. Topped with grated Parmesan cheese before serving and served with hot, fresh from the oven loaf of bread. I will definitely Mae this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States