Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a great soup - one of our favorites. I streamline it a bit by using ground Italian sausage and shredded carrots. I also add a can of white beans. Make sure you use a good red wine for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Used Deer Sausage... This was awesome! Nice little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is the best soup I have ever made. I only modified it by adding a couple of handfuls of fresh baby spinach at the end of the cooking time as I am trying to get more veggies in my diet. Otherwise, I pretty much made it as the recipe states and it is FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great flavor and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I've made this soup several times and loved this soup. I've only made couple of changes. I omitted the water and added more beef broth and red wine. I replaced tortellini with red skin potatoes, added spinach and added rio-tel tomato. It gave the soup a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love this soup and so does my husband. I made it to take to my parents' house on Christmas Eve (we always do soup, sandwiches, finger foods, and dessert) and everyone raved! The only thing I do differently is leave out the tortellini. I add small,tube pasta instead and serve the soup with grated mozzarella cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wonderful and filling. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding spinach and baby lima beans. I also gave a guick rince over the cooked sausage to drain some of the fat and salt. This recipes great, it'll be added to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
One of our favorite soups to make! It's easy, quick, and warms you up! Delicious, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I loved everything about this recipe. Sooo GOoood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum! Yum! Yum! Great recipe. I am making more broth so that I can easily complete the soup for future dinners. I have a lot of extra red wine to use up and don't drink it! (Migraines unfortunately!) I had a soup night party and served this along with two others, it was a huge hit! A couple of things I will adjust next time, I won't cook the tortellini in the soup but will likely do it in water and beef broth so it still has the flavor it would have cooked in the soup. I will keep the two separate and put them together for each bowl. When the tortellini sits in the soup it starts to swell and soften, absorbing too much broth over time, it was also hard to divvy out the sausage with the big tortellini getting in the way. Not great for leftovers or when you have a soup pot on the stove for seconds (and thirds). I also added extra veg because that is what I always do and may add even more variety next time. I added green beans and a yellow squash but plan to add some chard and maybe some mushrooms). I used fresh tomatoes as the recipe calls for, tomato paste and water instead of canned sauce (better flavor) a big spoonful of sun-dried tomatoes from a jar I keep in the fridge and some additional herbs - bay leaf and rosemary. I didn't have wine so asked my sis to pick up a bottle on her way over. The soup was pretty bland without it and I was shocked at how much richer and more complex it was from this small addition. My suggestion, don't leave the wine out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States