Italian Sausage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This recipe was easy and delicious. I used beef broth and rotini noodles. I added 2 additional cups of broth since I used larger noodles. I also added 2 bay leaves while simmering. Great way to cook with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I love this soup and make it all the time and receive rave reviews. I always had more broth b/c it's very thick otherwise and this makes it last longer too. I sometimes cut down on the rosemary b/c don't really like biting into it. I agree on the pasta -- best to cook separately and add per bowl. It also freezes much better without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jak rico
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used jimmy dean sausage. Great flavor and simple 2 make. I left boiling a little longer then needed make sure the carrots would cook. Mistake lost the soup base. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This soup was easy to make and has a lot of flavor. I didn't even add salt and pepper. Delicious! Quick enough to make for a weekday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was very easy to make, I had all the ingredients on hand and it turned out beautifully! I did take some other people's advice though and I cooked the shells separately and then added them at the end, I also snuck quite a bit more crushed red pepper into the mix... gave it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swanton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellant !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very good ! A definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This soup was awesome and definitely a keeper. The flavors were great. I didn't have kidney beans and used cannellini beans instead. I used a combo of chicken and veg broth too. My picky kids cleaned their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This soup was great. I added some extra broth though, as the pot looked a little light on liquid. Also, I didn't have any shells on hand, but I had bowties and orzo. When it came time to add the pasta, I chose the orzo because the bowties may have absorbed too much of the liquid. In the end, the orzo was the right decision. To everyone that complained about the pasta, try orzo. They plumped, but not too large (about the size of long grain rice), they absorbed the flavor really well, and had a nice texture. I used about 1-1/2 to 2 cups eyeballed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
SO good! While Mary P's Italian sausage & tortellini soup and Perri Pender's slow cooker Italian sausage soup are still my favorites, this certainly gives both a run for the money! What I like about this is the spice blend. My kitchen smelled like Thanksgiving and evoked thoughts of some of my favorite seasonal dishes (my hubs commented that the whole house smelled like I was preparing a batch of homemade stuffing and roasting a turkey in the oven!). :) For this reason alone, I'll be making this a "day after Tday" tradition! Although nearly perfect as is, I couldn't resist the urge to make a few changes.... Because I had it, I added a few glugs of red wine (cabernet). I also used half chicken, half beef broth (I thought beef broth would help bring out the flavor of the red wine). I subbed cannellini beans for red ones (hubs' preference) and ditalini pasta for shells (didn't have the latter variety). My final change was to add a couple handfuls of chopped spinach during the last couple minutes of cooking. Ciabatta rolls and a sprinkling of fresh grated Parm hit the spot! Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe, DOLAN1031! I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to give this a try! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States