Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This wasn't quite as awesome as I'd been hoping for, but it was still very nice. I made it exactly as written, though my sausages were a little smaller than 4 oz. each. (There was still plenty of sausage in proportion to the other ingredients, though.) The wine I used was a Pinot Grigio, and I wound up cooking everything for about 20 minutes. This is a very colorful dish too. I was a tiny bit baffled about having this as an entree; I wondered if it should be on a bed of spaghetti, or with a side of risotto, or what - It seemed a little incomplete as is. Despite those minor quibbles, this is well worth making again, perhaps with some hot sausage as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I loved this and so did my Italian hubby. Since I was out of wine (sad day) I used Italian dressing and a small can of tomatoe sauce. This is a meal that is definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I wanted make it more saucy, and more flavor. Before carmelizing the onion, I added some pepper flakes for heat, and when done sautéing the veggies, I had several vine perfectly ripped tomatoes (that I boiled and peel the skin then diced) so I added for sauciness. Because I didn't have sweet sausage, I added brown sugar for sweetness, all done in Dutch oven, and let it simmer for an hour. I tripled the wine and like other viewers said, I used olive oil over butter. This was hot and sweet with ton of flavor!!!!!! Of course I served it with garlic pasta and the boys literally licked the plate!!!! Awesome!! Another jewel recipe to my folder!!! Thank you!! (^__^)v
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My Great Aunt requests this fir her Birthday Dinner every year! I prepare it as directed and our entire family eats every bit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this recipe for a picnic and there was nothing left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I think I liked this slightly better than the same thing but baked with potatoes in it as well. DH preferred the other. Whatever. It tastes the same either way, I just like the noodles better plus this one is faster since there's no waiting around on potatoes to cook in the oven! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I didn't make too many changes to this recipe. After I browned the sweet Italian sausages and removed them, I had a lot of sausage drippings in the pan. I just tossed the butter in with the drippings and continued with the rest of the recipe. I had doubled the ingredients because I have a large family. The only real modification I made was that I used about 1 1/2 cups of white cooking wine (3/4 cup if not doubling the recipe). It was a hit! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is the best way to cook Italian sausage with peppers. We like to eat them on hoagies topped with marina sauce or with penne or rotini pasta. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe was really good! I made it following the recipe exactly, and it was great. My whole family really loved it, which doesn't happen all that much with my five year old and almost two year old. In fact, my two year old ate two helpings of this, which doesn't happen often with him. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Awesome! Forgot to add the wine but added crushed tomatoes and 1/2 sweet & 1/2 hot sausage (per reviewers comments)and it was delicious!!! Definitely making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States