Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I was looking for a sausage dish that didn't use some form of tomato in it; not that I don't love it that way, I just wanted something different. We always have sausage in tomato sauce over pasta, it was a staple of our kitchen. This has since become our favorite way of preparing after I made a couple of changes; first, I used spicy sausage as we do love the kick. I doubled the amount of white wine (and I've used red as well, still love it) and I used olive oil instead of butter. I have served it over rice, in buns and our favorite- over egg noodles. Very delicious; thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Olive oil is a great replacement for the butter! A great American twist that my family and I love is to serve the sausage on a bun with a side of baked beans! Always a favorite for family cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremiah Pepin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great flavors. I added more salt and pepper. Next time more wine. I used hot Italian sausage.. Was great. Served with Parmesan noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Loved this. Added fresh basil, mushrooms, a can of crushed tomatoes and half a jar of tomato basil sauce. Served over rotini. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Was really good!! I put mines on a roll as a sandwich and with my extra picky 3 sons had theirs on spaghetti noodles but they ate it all which is surprising because they are the PICKIEST children I have ever seen! Lol. Changed nothing except I bought my onions and peppers precut from the supermarket to save time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T except I used all spicy sausage. So good and I am so glad to have found an easy recipe that I will use again and again. I spooned the mixture on to hollowed out hoagie rolls and it was delish! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter and we LOVED it. I was a little worried because I accidentally opened a pretty sweet bottle of wine, but the sweetness was actually a very welcome addition to the spiciness of the peppers (I used hot instead of sweet). I served it with garlic mashed potatoes, which was a nice alternative to pasta. My husband had three helpings! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
One of my favorites! This is the first recipe I tried on allrecipes.com and its the one that I always come back to. Now, this recipe is my "secret sausage and peppers recipe!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Ruffino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So delicious and easy! We serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I added two extra sausages and served it on angel hair pasta. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States