Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
At my daughter and son-in-law's awaiting the birth of twin girls - their 3rd and 4th surprise. Cooking for my son-in-law is a challenge - he eats very little green. I'm hoping the smell of this alone will capture his attention as he comes thru the door after work. If this tastes 1/3 as fantastic as it smells, how wonderful. Will post results - other than tasting as I'm cooking - which is WOW. Don't know how or what I'd do without ALLRECIPES. Thank you GIGI9801 for an easy, healthful, tasty meal. A super HIT We all love this. It will get served often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe was pretty easy to put together and was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstahlberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. Though I use broth instead of wine since I never have any wine to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Chaput

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Great recipe. Only made two minor changes. I used spicy italian turkey sausage and added some fresh italian parsley. By browning the sausage first and deglazing the pan with the butter, the sauce came out really rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very yummy! After browning the sausage and veggies, I put everything into a Dutch Oven and simmered on the stove for most of the day. Only thing I changed was to add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Good recipe! I made a vegetarian version with smart sausage and frozen onions and peppers, very cheap and tasty for two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. We use Shady Brook Farms Hot lean Italian Sausage.... So good it gives it a kick. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmassauro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This wasn't quite as awesome as I'd been hoping for, but it was still very nice. I made it exactly as written, though my sausages were a little smaller than 4 oz. each. (There was still plenty of sausage in proportion to the other ingredients, though.) The wine I used was a Pinot Grigio, and I wound up cooking everything for about 20 minutes. This is a very colorful dish too. I was a tiny bit baffled about having this as an entree; I wondered if it should be on a bed of spaghetti, or with a side of risotto, or what - It seemed a little incomplete as is. Despite those minor quibbles, this is well worth making again, perhaps with some hot sausage as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I loved this and so did my Italian hubby. Since I was out of wine (sad day) I used Italian dressing and a small can of tomatoe sauce. This is a meal that is definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I wanted make it more saucy, and more flavor. Before carmelizing the onion, I added some pepper flakes for heat, and when done sautéing the veggies, I had several vine perfectly ripped tomatoes (that I boiled and peel the skin then diced) so I added for sauciness. Because I didn't have sweet sausage, I added brown sugar for sweetness, all done in Dutch oven, and let it simmer for an hour. I tripled the wine and like other viewers said, I used olive oil over butter. This was hot and sweet with ton of flavor!!!!!! Of course I served it with garlic pasta and the boys literally licked the plate!!!! Awesome!! Another jewel recipe to my folder!!! Thank you!! (^__^)v
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States