Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I HAD a recipe for sausage and peppers. It wasn't the best, but it was like those comfortable shoes that just don't do the job anymore but you can't get rid of them. Well, those shoes and that recipe are gone and in its place is this culinary treasure. I haven't had better anywhere. The only thing I did in addition to the recipe was to throw in a token amount of marinara halfway through the final 15 minute stage, maybe a quarter to half a cup. Other than that, I followed this recipe to a T and even did the sweet/hot sausage mix. Excellent. Can't wait for the next social event. This one is going to knock their socks off. Thank you for sharing. This one is going into our family cookbook. For those that find 15 minutes is too long to cook the peppers and onions, try cutting your slices a little thicker; pencil thin cuts are too small. Or simply cook it for a shorter time. As long as your sausages are fully cooked before you add them you are safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used sweet Italian turkey sausage. Very delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Yummy, easy, made the house smell good... leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Wonderful. It has become a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Husband & I loved. Used olive oil & added mushrooms for husband. Served with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very tasty. I made them for a congregation lunch and everyone loved them. I substituted olive oil for the butter, used some black pepper, and a little garlic salt for seasoning to. They were a hit with my family as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I took the advice of naples34102 and used red wine, fresh basil and added marinara sauce. For the wine, I halved the recipe but must have poured in at least half a cup so that I have enough sauce over my penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe and it wasn't bad, but no my favorite. We like to put our sausage on rolls with the peppers and this really wasn't good for that would have been better on pasta maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made in the crockpot on low for six hours. Flavors were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was amazing! I did not use wine though. I used red, green, orange and yellow bell peppers along with ground cumin, salt&pepper, crushed red peppers and tomato sauce. I would suggest just using half of the yellow onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States