Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
very good. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Made recipe almost exactly as written. Omitted the butter and basil and used 1/2 cup wine instead of 1/4 cup for deglazing. Delicious new recipe. I can easily see making this a couple times a month. Snapped a photo (#35) which really shows what great caramelization is possible with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Really yummy! The smell of this cooking was intoxicating and we all couldn't wait to eat it. I sliced up the sausage (used Italian chicken sausage) to put in hot dog buns added the peppers and onions (which I used green and yellow) then topped with some gruyere cheese and threw it in the oven for the cheese to melt. Served with a side of marinara for dipping. VERY good dinner. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Awesome! Added cubed pears and substituted Korean plum wine I had in the fridge. Served over Mashed potatoes and the kids were in heaven. Even my wife was still talking about it the next day. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner and it was fabulous!! The only thing I did different was I used fresh Oregano and Basil!!! My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe GIGI. My children will not eat Italian sausage so I use garlic sausage. I leave out the garlic in the recipe since the meat has it. I add fennel seed, half a can of no-salt tomatoes, double the onions, peppers, and basil. Don't use wine since I never have it. I serve this with cheese and potatoe perogies. My 5,6,and 7 year olds love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
yummy. kids approved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! I did modify it a bit to my taste, but generally the same. Serve with a side of spaghetti topped with Italian seasoned tomatoes. Delicious! Definitely a favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I give this 4 stars because I made some significant changes to lower the calorie/fat count. I used Jennie-O Hot Turkey Italian Sausage, substituted country crock lite for the high fat butter. With these small changes the calorie count was 191/serving and 7 grams of fat. Very good though. I served over brown rice and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
One of my favorite recipes that almost everyone I've made it for enjoys. I prefer to leave the sausages whole and frequently sub a flavored olive oil (though these do get pricey) for the garlic, The results are always excellent though. Whether I use sweet sausage, spicy sausge, or something else entirely (I've cooked with chorizo sausage before!) this is a pretty good recipe to get you started on making a delicious, and very classic, dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States