Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Gigi, this was amazing! I needed a bigger batch, so I tweaked it a little. Used five 5-in. links of sweet Italian sausage and one pkg of Butterball turkey sausage. Browned sausages whole, then sliced them and thoroughly cooked pieces. Removed them from skillet. Carmelized a huge sweet onion with garlic and butter. Added 14 oz can of unseasoned petite diced tomatoes and 1/2 cup red wine. Then added sliced peppers (green, red, yellow). Added sausage back in. Cooked about 15 min. Towards end, sauce was still thin, so as another reviewer suggested, I thickened by adding 1 Tbl cornstarch mixed in 1 Tbl water. By thoroughly cooking the sausage first, I didn't have to risk overcooking the peppers and retained their snap. Served with bowtie pasta. Satisfied six hungry adults. Thanks Gigi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is the exact recipe I have used over the years. An old famous sub shop owner gave it to me about 20 years ago (he used sausages or steak pieces). Only difference is we add a half +/- tablespoon olive oil with a tablespoon of the butter so it doesn't burn, salt and pepper, and a teaspoon of sugar to taste which sweetened up the onions and peppers more so than without (I personally sprinkle a tiny bit of Sweet and Low or Stevia or Agave whatever I have on hand). It's personal preference I think. I love this loaded up on a Fantini roll. Better than at the fairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I coked this dish today and it is so delicious! My husband even went for a second serving. I bow-tie pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliesaf
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
delicious! used red and yellow peppers and only yellow onions (no red), and hot Italian sausage and it came out great! put shredded mozzerella on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was sooo oo good. My husband got off work and said the house smelled amazing. He loved it. I did also. Gotta put this on our monthly schedule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Delphi, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaShunda Frost
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Just made this tonight & my son loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShunda Frost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a good recipe over spaghetti because after cooking the onions and peppers for 15 minutes with the sausage, the vegetables became too mushy. The wine gave it a different taste which was ok. I added a jar of spaghetti sauce with the spaghetti. It was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first time making sausage and peppers, and I liked this quite a bit! I used olive oil instead of butter and an orange pepper instead of a green one. It was slightly bland; so I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was a solid recipe. I followed it almost exactly to the T-- with the exception being that I used spicy italian sausage rather than sweet & I sprinkled with parmesan when serving. It was very simple, but very tasty! We served over plain semolina pasta. My husband wasn't thrilled when he saw me cooking it, but was quick to comment that it was actually really yummy and a very pleasant surprise. This is a fabulous, nutritious, easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Delicious! My husband can't stop saying how good lunch was. We made a few substitutions as we didn't have white wine or fresh basil. Marsala for the white wine and marjoram for basil. And half butter half olive oil. And we did ours all on the grill with a cast iron skillet. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States