Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I've never done this but I'm writing a review based on modifications I made. I'm making this for supper tonight. Once I had the peppers, onions and garlic sautéed in olive oil and softened, I kept tasting it and agreed with others. It lacked flavor. First I added 1/4 C. beer, because that sounded good. Nothing. I then added a healthy splash of white wine. Cooked down quickly and still tasted bland. So then I sprinkled on some red wine vinegar, about 2 T. That, along with some smoked sea salt, did the trick for flavor. I also felt the veggies could have cooked for less time as we too, prefer a crisp/tender texture.I don't believe in reviewing recipes that you don't make as written but I really felt I had to add my little two cents on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy MacDonald
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Everyone loved this recipe, I served it over capellini, was a great combo. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I tried this recipe but made a few changes to it. First, I used yellow and red pepper since I don't like green. I also didn't use the red onion. I did not add the basil or oregano but kept the garlic. After cooking the pepper and onion, I followed the suggestion of someone else's comment and had it on Italian rolls with Italian dressing and Provolone cheese. It was so good and I will be making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've made this many times and I love it because it's quick and delicious. I put this on a good Italian roll and sprinkle with Romano cheese??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimCancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I opted to use olive oil instead of butter for a healthier version of this dish; still good. Next time I will try and go with original version of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Just made this and it is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Delicious! I used only red pepper since that is what I had and used chicken broth instead of white wine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delicious. Tastes like what you'd pay for at an upscale restaurant. I followed the directions exactly. This dish exceeded my expectations and I WILL be making this more. Thank you so much for sharing. ~Micah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
One of the best recipes I've used off this website so far. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
a one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Lockhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States