Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe! I used a smoked sausage, which in its own right was wonderful but I look forward to using a good Italian sausage next time. I had fresh basil and oregano growing in the yard so I added that instead of dried and it added a wonderful flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Yes will make again and served with rice and garlic toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Just made it today and i love it so does my wife
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delish ! Our standby recipe from Great Grandma Betty from Abruzzi adds 3 approx 6"zucchini (cut in 1/2 >Scoop out seeds (discard them) >Cut into chunks and add with peppers and onions> Great way to slip in extra veggies for kids & adults alike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Sensational just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Great recipe! tried it with and without gravy and also just to toss it up I used some leftover red wine once...just poured it in and cooked it off... gives a great flavor boost...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Made this and loved it. I live alone so I cut the recipe in half and froze the leftovers. I also cheated and started with Johnsonville brand pre-grilled Italian sausage. The sausage comes in Mild Italian Links and Sliced Italian Sausage. Simplifies the whole process and makes sure that the sausage is fully cooked,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Todd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
We use balsamic vinegar (about 1/3-1/2 cup), no additional spices, and stir it half way through the cooking time. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe is standard. The results solely depend upon the ingredients used. Buy the best sausage, I prefer hot. Red wine instead of white, a half cup - again a good table red not the 2.99 closeout. Olive Oil, not butter - a quality oil - extra virgin, not the dredges of last pressings. Oregano is good, basil is your choice - but fennel, crushed is a must sprinkled over everything as it cooks if the sausage is a national brand or chain store brand 'cause that's where the blandness comes from. Leave the sausage whole and couple with a good Italian hard crust bread/roll or slice to serve over pasta of your choice - but run the pasta through the sausage cooking pan to get all the scraps. If your really brave use any of the hot peppers available as well in conjunction with the red and green bell peppers. Serve with a really good red wine. Finish with a little bit of Italian ice to cool the taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I make this recipe a lot (double the amount) and the next day I add pasta sauce to it and put it on white rice. This way I get two meals out of it. Everyone likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States