Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LaShunda Frost
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Just made this tonight & my son loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShunda Frost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a good recipe over spaghetti because after cooking the onions and peppers for 15 minutes with the sausage, the vegetables became too mushy. The wine gave it a different taste which was ok. I added a jar of spaghetti sauce with the spaghetti. It was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first time making sausage and peppers, and I liked this quite a bit! I used olive oil instead of butter and an orange pepper instead of a green one. It was slightly bland; so I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was a solid recipe. I followed it almost exactly to the T-- with the exception being that I used spicy italian sausage rather than sweet & I sprinkled with parmesan when serving. It was very simple, but very tasty! We served over plain semolina pasta. My husband wasn't thrilled when he saw me cooking it, but was quick to comment that it was actually really yummy and a very pleasant surprise. This is a fabulous, nutritious, easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Delicious! My husband can't stop saying how good lunch was. We made a few substitutions as we didn't have white wine or fresh basil. Marsala for the white wine and marjoram for basil. And half butter half olive oil. And we did ours all on the grill with a cast iron skillet. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Looking to use an orange bell pepper and a red one that were in the fridge I found this recipe. Delicious. Love it. No wine except sherry so I used that and I didn't have a purple onion. I had three sausage links that were about 3 or 4 oz. each. Because someone else suggested it I added 8 oz. of tomato sauce. Served it on rotini pasta. With only half the amount of sausage and served on pasta this made 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I've never done this but I'm writing a review based on modifications I made. I'm making this for supper tonight. Once I had the peppers, onions and garlic sautéed in olive oil and softened, I kept tasting it and agreed with others. It lacked flavor. First I added 1/4 C. beer, because that sounded good. Nothing. I then added a healthy splash of white wine. Cooked down quickly and still tasted bland. So then I sprinkled on some red wine vinegar, about 2 T. That, along with some smoked sea salt, did the trick for flavor. I also felt the veggies could have cooked for less time as we too, prefer a crisp/tender texture.I don't believe in reviewing recipes that you don't make as written but I really felt I had to add my little two cents on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy MacDonald
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Everyone loved this recipe, I served it over capellini, was a great combo. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I tried this recipe but made a few changes to it. First, I used yellow and red pepper since I don't like green. I also didn't use the red onion. I did not add the basil or oregano but kept the garlic. After cooking the pepper and onion, I followed the suggestion of someone else's comment and had it on Italian rolls with Italian dressing and Provolone cheese. It was so good and I will be making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've made this many times and I love it because it's quick and delicious. I put this on a good Italian roll and sprinkle with Romano cheese??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimCancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States