Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't like wasting time on rating recipes with so many other ratings. However, I felt I needed to rate this one. A keeper. I did make some changes, added a large can of diced tomatoes and used fresh herbs. I doubled the recipe. I used a very large skillet pan and the onions looked like a ridiculous amount but yes, it's the right amount. They cook down quickly. I did not add the garlic until way later, after the peppers. (I have a tendency to burn garlic). And I used red wine instead of white, olive oil instead of butter. It was very good. Thanks GIGI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I make sausage & peppers a tad different but, I wanted to try this & I really like it! I did not have red onion or green pepper. I used 2 red peppers instead everything else I kept the same! We ate it over Parmesan white rice because I didn't have rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I also use both hot and mild or sweet sausage combos. I remove the skin from the sausage before I cook it. Natural casing get a bit tough. The sausage hangs together nicely and you end up with nifty bite sized pieces that are surprise packages.Also,a bit of Olive oil doesn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe with some small modifications: I start off with the sauce as directed, but add whatever wine I happen to have. When the peppers and onions are soft I add some marinara sauce, cover the pot, and turn it down to a very slow simmer. At this point I grill the sausages. When they are browned, I put them in with the sauce, cook for a few more minutes and voila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
we love this basic recipe, turns out great every time. we like it over a nice artisan bread slice or two, really soaks up the juices. i'd add a photo but we keep eating it all before i remember to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearlessKnitter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I added tomatoes because I only has one type of onion. Also added oregano instead of basil. Turned out great. Made rice and Mac and cheese to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
One of our favorites. Easy and delicious. My husband is a picky eater and he rates this in his top 5 favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I like the way the peppers & onions are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding salt and pepper, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladydi1515
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a fantastic dish! I made this tonight and my husband said it was better than some Italian restaurants he' s been too. I followed the receipt almost exactly with the exception of adding a can of diced tomatoes to create a bit of a sauce. I served over angel hair pasta. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States