Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Easy, easy, easy! My 18 year old niece and I made this together trying to create a meal out of the slim pickins' in the cuboard. I didn't add the okra (didn't have it) but did add a can of beans. Everyone loved it and it sure didn't taste like an end of the month, scrape it together dinner! Thanks, this is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this was very goood, I added two cloves of minced garlic, I used about a cup instead of 1/2 a cup of onion and celery, and I soaked the rice in the chicken broth while I browned the sausage. I used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce (simply because I didn't have hot sauce) and my husband and I both mowed it down. Very very good indeed, I will definitely be making this again. I recommend it for a quick filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Loved it! I Added a red bell pepper, since I had one in the fridge that I needed to use before it turned. Didn't add the okra (didn't have any, and we don't really like it anyhow), a can of petite diced tomatoes (made for a great sauce) and used Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage links since it was what I had on hand. This was delicious, quick and easy, and will certainly be on our regular rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yummy recipe! I am not normally a huge fan of jambalaya, but the Italian sausage made this a big hit! I didn't have any okra (and I don't think my kids would eat it anyway) so instead I subbed half a red pepper and half a yellow one. Also used diced tomatoes with green chilis, which were awesome for this! The seasonings were perfect (I didn't feel the need to add anything, which is rare) and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! I didn't have okra on hand and used brown rice. I had to add a little more chicken stock and let it cook a bit longer but it came out perfectly. My husband said that it was the best meal he'd had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was really tasty! I used Johnsonville hot italian sausage and the same ingredients below. (except I used Tomatoes with green chiles) And I only have 5 minute rice on hand, so I cooked that separately with the chicken broth instead of water. Then, added that to the simmering tomatoes mix during the last 5 minutes of simmering...stirred it up and was super yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good! I used the recipe for a great springboard, & tweaked it just a bit (as we cooks will do!). I browned the hot Italian sausage first, then crumbled. I tripled all the veggies, added mushrooms, used only half the sausage stated (just wanted the taste), & added Tony Cachere's to the seasonings. Put it all in the crockpot, & let it cook on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!!! Oh, I also doubled the brown rice portion & added that to the crockpot with everything else. At the very end, I stirred in about 1-2 teaspoons of file' powder. OMG! What a fantastic meal!!! I realize it sounds as if I made a lot of changes, but really it was just playing with proportions rather than the actual ingredients. Great budget recipe - I end up with about twelve 1-1/2 cups servings for around $7! It also freezes beautifully & reheats extremely well. So, 5-stars for all those things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Recently married and it has been awhile since I actually cooked for someone. He LOVED it! It was really tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this recipe is great its so easy and versatle. Ididnt put okra but added red bell pepper and garlic everything else the same and my 4 year old asked for seconds!!! try it and mix it up to your own standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I cooked this and my husband aI loved it. I think I over cooked mine because the seeds from the okra were everywhere. But over all it was deliciouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States