Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Loved it! I Added a red bell pepper, since I had one in the fridge that I needed to use before it turned. Didn't add the okra (didn't have any, and we don't really like it anyhow), a can of petite diced tomatoes (made for a great sauce) and used Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage links since it was what I had on hand. This was delicious, quick and easy, and will certainly be on our regular rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good! I used the recipe for a great springboard, & tweaked it just a bit (as we cooks will do!). I browned the hot Italian sausage first, then crumbled. I tripled all the veggies, added mushrooms, used only half the sausage stated (just wanted the taste), & added Tony Cachere's to the seasonings. Put it all in the crockpot, & let it cook on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!!! Oh, I also doubled the brown rice portion & added that to the crockpot with everything else. At the very end, I stirred in about 1-2 teaspoons of file' powder. OMG! What a fantastic meal!!! I realize it sounds as if I made a lot of changes, but really it was just playing with proportions rather than the actual ingredients. Great budget recipe - I end up with about twelve 1-1/2 cups servings for around $7! It also freezes beautifully & reheats extremely well. So, 5-stars for all those things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this because sausage was the only meat I had on hand (it did happen to be Bob Evans). I followed the recipe pretty much but didn't have celery on hand so I used a small can (4 oz) of mile green chiles (just because I did have them on hand). Because I used the mild chiles I didn't add hot sauce. I did have frozen okra and did use it in the recipe but only put in about 1/2 of the amount shown. I just felt that much okra would overpower the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Easy, easy, easy! My 18 year old niece and I made this together trying to create a meal out of the slim pickins' in the cuboard. I didn't add the okra (didn't have it) but did add a can of beans. Everyone loved it and it sure didn't taste like an end of the month, scrape it together dinner! Thanks, this is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yummy recipe! I am not normally a huge fan of jambalaya, but the Italian sausage made this a big hit! I didn't have any okra (and I don't think my kids would eat it anyway) so instead I subbed half a red pepper and half a yellow one. Also used diced tomatoes with green chilis, which were awesome for this! The seasonings were perfect (I didn't feel the need to add anything, which is rare) and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't use the Bob Evans brand sausage either because the store I stopped at didn't have it. I did use hot italian sausage for a "kick," and I'm glad I did, because I think it really pulled the whole dish together. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is OK for a skillet meal. If I ever make it again, I will cook the sausage through in the skillet before adding the other ingredients. I had to cook the jambalaya for over an hour, and the rice got overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was very tasty and very easy to make. I have to confess that I did not use Bob Evans sausage, just some other random brand. I left out the okra and didn't miss it at all. I suggest that the sausage casings be removed before cooking. I also had to add a little bit of olive oil to the sausage, onion and celery so that the veggies would not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very tasty and simple to prepare. I used hot Italian poultry sausage and brown rice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised how good this came out. I did everything by the recipe, but just approximated the sausage (whatever brand I had around), and added a little extra rice and a whole can of chicken broth. Because the okra was fresh, i cooked everything a little bit before i added the rice. I really think you can't mess this one up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States