Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Loved it! I Added a red bell pepper, since I had one in the fridge that I needed to use before it turned. Didn't add the okra (didn't have any, and we don't really like it anyhow), a can of petite diced tomatoes (made for a great sauce) and used Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage links since it was what I had on hand. This was delicious, quick and easy, and will certainly be on our regular rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good! I used the recipe for a great springboard, & tweaked it just a bit (as we cooks will do!). I browned the hot Italian sausage first, then crumbled. I tripled all the veggies, added mushrooms, used only half the sausage stated (just wanted the taste), & added Tony Cachere's to the seasonings. Put it all in the crockpot, & let it cook on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!!! Oh, I also doubled the brown rice portion & added that to the crockpot with everything else. At the very end, I stirred in about 1-2 teaspoons of file' powder. OMG! What a fantastic meal!!! I realize it sounds as if I made a lot of changes, but really it was just playing with proportions rather than the actual ingredients. Great budget recipe - I end up with about twelve 1-1/2 cups servings for around $7! It also freezes beautifully & reheats extremely well. So, 5-stars for all those things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this because sausage was the only meat I had on hand (it did happen to be Bob Evans). I followed the recipe pretty much but didn't have celery on hand so I used a small can (4 oz) of mile green chiles (just because I did have them on hand). Because I used the mild chiles I didn't add hot sauce. I did have frozen okra and did use it in the recipe but only put in about 1/2 of the amount shown. I just felt that much okra would overpower the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Easy, easy, easy! My 18 year old niece and I made this together trying to create a meal out of the slim pickins' in the cuboard. I didn't add the okra (didn't have it) but did add a can of beans. Everyone loved it and it sure didn't taste like an end of the month, scrape it together dinner! Thanks, this is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yummy recipe! I am not normally a huge fan of jambalaya, but the Italian sausage made this a big hit! I didn't have any okra (and I don't think my kids would eat it anyway) so instead I subbed half a red pepper and half a yellow one. Also used diced tomatoes with green chilis, which were awesome for this! The seasonings were perfect (I didn't feel the need to add anything, which is rare) and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't use the Bob Evans brand sausage either because the store I stopped at didn't have it. I did use hot italian sausage for a "kick," and I'm glad I did, because I think it really pulled the whole dish together. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is OK for a skillet meal. If I ever make it again, I will cook the sausage through in the skillet before adding the other ingredients. I had to cook the jambalaya for over an hour, and the rice got overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was very tasty and very easy to make. I have to confess that I did not use Bob Evans sausage, just some other random brand. I left out the okra and didn't miss it at all. I suggest that the sausage casings be removed before cooking. I also had to add a little bit of olive oil to the sausage, onion and celery so that the veggies would not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very tasty and simple to prepare. I used hot Italian poultry sausage and brown rice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised how good this came out. I did everything by the recipe, but just approximated the sausage (whatever brand I had around), and added a little extra rice and a whole can of chicken broth. Because the okra was fresh, i cooked everything a little bit before i added the rice. I really think you can't mess this one up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States