Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I enjoyed this. But it's closer to a gumbo than a jambalaya. (Picky, picky...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good! I used the recipe for a great springboard, & tweaked it just a bit (as we cooks will do!). I browned the hot Italian sausage first, then crumbled. I tripled all the veggies, added mushrooms, used only half the sausage stated (just wanted the taste), & added Tony Cachere's to the seasonings. Put it all in the crockpot, & let it cook on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!!! Oh, I also doubled the brown rice portion & added that to the crockpot with everything else. At the very end, I stirred in about 1-2 teaspoons of file' powder. OMG! What a fantastic meal!!! I realize it sounds as if I made a lot of changes, but really it was just playing with proportions rather than the actual ingredients. Great budget recipe - I end up with about twelve 1-1/2 cups servings for around $7! It also freezes beautifully & reheats extremely well. So, 5-stars for all those things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made some changes that I shouldn't have. I plan on making this again and sticking to the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was really tasty! I used Johnsonville hot italian sausage and the same ingredients below. (except I used Tomatoes with green chiles) And I only have 5 minute rice on hand, so I cooked that separately with the chicken broth instead of water. Then, added that to the simmering tomatoes mix during the last 5 minutes of simmering...stirred it up and was super yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! I didn't have okra on hand and used brown rice. I had to add a little more chicken stock and let it cook a bit longer but it came out perfectly. My husband said that it was the best meal he'd had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yummy recipe! I am not normally a huge fan of jambalaya, but the Italian sausage made this a big hit! I didn't have any okra (and I don't think my kids would eat it anyway) so instead I subbed half a red pepper and half a yellow one. Also used diced tomatoes with green chilis, which were awesome for this! The seasonings were perfect (I didn't feel the need to add anything, which is rare) and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We did not really care for this. It was edible, but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I added just what the recipe called for in terms of hot sauce to make this more kid friendly. Personally, I could make it with a lot more, maybe even double. Very hearty and yummy. A perfect comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Loved it! I Added a red bell pepper, since I had one in the fridge that I needed to use before it turned. Didn't add the okra (didn't have any, and we don't really like it anyhow), a can of petite diced tomatoes (made for a great sauce) and used Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage links since it was what I had on hand. This was delicious, quick and easy, and will certainly be on our regular rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
not crazy about this one. used frozen spinach instead of okra. I don't know if it was the seasonings or what, but the sausage was the only good part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States