Italian Sausage Appetizer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I found this easy to do. I'm thinking I would like mozzarella better than the Swiss cheese and I might want to add a little marinara sauce to the mixture. Will definitely make again for appetizer or evening snack. I'd like to try making and freezing ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fabulous! Not just as an appetizer but also as a light meal. Did not squeeze all the juice from the olives and the peppers and then mixed these into the cream cheese before I spead onto bread. Made it easier to spread and got all ingredients thoroughly mixed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was pretty good! I used ground pork instead of ground sausage. For dough I bought fresh pizza dough from the grocery store deli. It was very yummy! Only issue is that my dough didn't brown. I would brush oil over it if I did this again. Other than that, no issues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe is wonderful.....everyone at work got a copy of the recipes, oh the family loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANKIETRIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I modified this slightly by using chive & onion cream cheese and "hot" sausage. Instead of one large loaf, I rolled out the dough, cut in half, and baked two loaves of bread. Also, I think it was easier to move two small loaves to the baking sheet rather than one large, stuffed one. Ate one today with a bowl of homemade bean soup and put the second baked loaf in the freezer. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Quick, easy and very tasty! I substituted the swiss cheese for shredded mozzarella, provolone and cheddar. I skipped the poppyseed and brushed the bread with melted butter after it baked for 20 minutes and topped with mozzarella, put in the oven for about 3-4 more minutes! Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I found this to be very, very boring. Also, it was VERY DIFFICULT to pick-up the dough that had been filled and place it on the baking sheet. To help with this problem, I suggest cutting the dough in half b4 filling it and then place the two filled 1/2s on the baking sheet and/or place the rolled out dough on the baking sheet b4 filling it and then fill it with the sausage mixture on the baking sheet so you don't have to lift the unbaked roll onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Okay, YUM! Only thing is that for the life of me I could not roll out my one pound loaf of bread dough into a 16" x 12" rectangle. I worked on it for quite some time and got it to about 15" x 8" and that was perfect. I recommend thawing two loaves because there is easily enough filling with these ratios to fill two, and you'll want two! I omitted the olives and subbed shredded Italian cheese blend for the Swiss. Reduced oven temp to 375 and baked for 20 minutes to golden brown perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really had high hopes for this one, but I have to say we didn't enjoy it at all. The flavors were weird. I did sub mozzarella like many others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for a football get together and everyone loved it! A friend even had me print the recipe out for her take home! The only changes I made were using black olives instead of kalamat and didn't use the poppy seeds. This will be in the rotation for appetizers from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States