Italian Sausage Appetizer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I modified this slightly by using chive & onion cream cheese and "hot" sausage. Instead of one large loaf, I rolled out the dough, cut in half, and baked two loaves of bread. Also, I think it was easier to move two small loaves to the baking sheet rather than one large, stuffed one. Ate one today with a bowl of homemade bean soup and put the second baked loaf in the freezer. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this for Christmas Eve party and it went over very well. Had several requests for the recipe. Plan on making it again for something different for dinner. We are not much on olives so I did delete them from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
easy and delicious i also omitted the poppy seeds (only because i didn't have any ) everyone that has tried it so far has loved it!! tonight i am trying a different spin, buffalo chicken...wish me luck!! not only a great recipe, but a great base for experimenting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made this several months ago as an appetizer for about 40 of my friends who came over. They raved about it, and several asked for the recipe. Made it exactly as listed, except I omitted the poppy seeds. Still very good. Making it for supper tonight, as the main dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was great! I omitted the olives but only because I didn't have any. I also used garlic powder as opposed to minced and Shredded Italian cheese in place of the Swiss. I think this would be even better as individual sausage breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Excellent! The bread dough that I used absolutely would not roll out to 12" wide. I rolled it to about 7"x16", put the filling on it, and stretched the dough up & over, pinching the seam as I went. It worked very well. (Don't forget to pinch the ends as well!) Didn't have shredded Swiss, so I used 5-cheese Italian. Friends & family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I found this to be very, very boring. Also, it was VERY DIFFICULT to pick-up the dough that had been filled and place it on the baking sheet. To help with this problem, I suggest cutting the dough in half b4 filling it and then place the two filled 1/2s on the baking sheet and/or place the rolled out dough on the baking sheet b4 filling it and then fill it with the sausage mixture on the baking sheet so you don't have to lift the unbaked roll onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
great for appetizers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Quick, easy and very tasty! I substituted the swiss cheese for shredded mozzarella, provolone and cheddar. I skipped the poppyseed and brushed the bread with melted butter after it baked for 20 minutes and topped with mozzarella, put in the oven for about 3-4 more minutes! Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States