Italian Sausage - Tuscan Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was very good as is but I did make adjustments based on preference. I made a batch up and subbed red wine for the ice water. I skipped the salt. I let the mix meld overnight in the refrigerator and made a test meatball. Lacked a bit of flavor so I added fresh garlic, parsley and oregano. I used hot paprika and crushed red pepper to up the heat. Tried another test meatball and was quite happy with the result. Great recipe as is and easily adjusted to suit your preferences. I highly recommend allowing the flavors to blend overnight and making a test meatball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I used half venison and half pork in this recipe was awesome! Used it on pizza and in spaghetti and even those who hate venision love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Len, you're a genius. I cook with this both bulk and cased. Used an uncased version in the Pizza Balls recipe and it turned out great. Mild, but savory. A hands-down favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
wonderful recipe will definitly be a top recipe in my box. I did sub the water for red wine. I didn't have any mace but it's on my list. Thank you for this great one will be used over and oer again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I've tried several recipes for Italian sausage and this one is by far the best. I scale it to one pound of pork, reduce the salt to 1 tsp and add a teaspoon of fennel. Perfect sausage without fillers for half the price! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I used this recipe as a base to make 1lb. of sausage using ground pork (so I reduced all the ingredients by about 1/5th). I couldnt find star anise so I used a couple drops of pure anise oil. It worked great and turned out wonderful! Update: we use this recipe all the time and love it! We just made a "sausage seasoning mix". We bumped the servings up to 40, added 1/2 an anise star (ground in the coffee grinder), added 1t paprika, teaspoon fennel, and doubled the black pepper. We just add 1 heaping tablespoon of the mix to a pound of meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I used ground venison, I forgot to have it made into sausage this year. It turned out GREAT! Used it in biscuits and gravy, and will use it tonight in a stuffed pizza. Added a pinch of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I love the depth of flavor this sausage has. I grind my own pork shoulder because the grocery store's ground pork is always bit and pieces of not very good meat. I added a little basil and oregano for this. Refridgate over night before stuffing so the flavors meld more. Makes divine spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Ver good. Enjoyed the spices, nice flavor. Husband really enjoyed and he is fussy about Italian sausage. Thank you. Update: I made Sweet and Hot meatballs with this sausage and waterchestnuts, with a sweet sauce of maple syrup and cider vinegar. My kids loved this at Thanksgiving as an appetizer and now I am making again for Christmas. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States