Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was the best rump roast we ever had in 33 years of marriage. I cooked it stove-top in tightly lidded dutch oven for 6 hours and kept liquid at 1.5 cups by adding water as needed. Only used 1/4 cup oil. Added 1/2 can tomato paste to gravy. Thickened gravy at last minute with 2 T cornstarch. It has to be served in thick slices (3/4"). Do not cut more than you will eat. It can be sliced thinner the next day when cold. If you do not like slightly spicy food use just 1/4 teaspoon pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Really good recipe! I followed it exactly. The beef turns out so flavorful! And it is so easy to make! I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTFETYKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
To be honest, I was a little leary about trying this resipe, due to the amount of spices. I thought it was overdoing it. Boy, was I wrong! This has such a wonderful flavor! And the gravy I make from the drippings is very good as well. All I have to do is thicken it, no seasonings or salt as with a lot of other recipes. I always cook my vegetables with the meat for the last portion of the cooking time and it gives them great flavor. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband grew up in Chicago and I made this recipe for him so he could have his beloved Italian Beef sandwiches. Unfortunately, this recipe was a big dud. While it was very tender, it has almost no flavor. I'll keep looking for a good italian roast beef recipe because this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I did not use all the oil called for, just "rubbed" the meat with some olive oil before rolling in the spices. I also cooked mine in the crock pot so the beef ended up being "shredded" when all was said and done. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I make this recipe in the crock pot. It is fabulous. Even better the next day. I do scrape off alot of herbs before serving. I use the broth to make gravy for a fantastic pot pie to get rid of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Flavor was good, but my piece of meat just wasn't that good. I can't blame the recipe for the meat. I'll retry. Fortunately, this site lets you edit your reviews. I did do a cornstarch and water blend and make a gravy out of the sauce because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was great! I will make again. It called for 1/2 cup oil but I substituted 1/4 cup olive oil and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ville Platte, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I eliminated the salt and the recipe was delicious. The broth had enough sodium and the spices made the recipe flavorful. It isn't bland for those who like flavor, but not salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States