Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i suggest using fresh rather than dried ingredients. other than that, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used low-sodium beef broth and an 8oz can of tomato sauce in place of the water and bouillon cubes. I used the Italian dressing mix found on this website instead of the spices listed in the recipe. I used 2 tbsp. olive oil in the place of the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because I only had a 2 pound tri-tip beef roast on hand. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 5 hours on low....It was better than any other recipe I've used. Thanks for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this and it was FANTASTIC, little less basil, Hubby couldnt wait for it to get done, this time making two roasts and turning one into soup, thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I thought this was a terrific recipe, but I browned the meat before putting into the water. It ads another level to the flavors and seals in the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe was easy and pretty good. I gave it 4 stars because it was way too salty for our taste. I will be making this again but with a fraction of the salt. It reheats really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Reyna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great roast, added about a tbl of worc.sauce, and since i had no italian seasoning, i used pizza seasoning with an addition to some thyme. I sliced 3 1 in. slits on the top of the roast and only used a few tbl of evoo.All the juices boiled out, but added more water and opted to cook in oven at 350 instead of stove top. After I added about 2 tbl of cornstrach and 1/2 c red wine to the juices left in the pan and used that as gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
i loved it husband not so much :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This got good reviews from my very picky family. They said I could make it again. I used a tri-tip roast that was just under 4 lbs. it cooked to well done 160* in under 2hrs. I made my own italian seasoning mix from the 2 recipes on this site. When done I thickened the juices with some cornstarch to make a nice light gravy/dip to serve with the roast. served with pasta and roasted carrots. I will use just a bit more crushed red peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Amazing! Don't change a thing. Made a nice herb crust when done in the oven. A little corn starch and water to thicken, and a splash of red wine...the best gravy ever. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I marinated it in the fridge for two days before cooking and added 2 Tbsp of worshe. sauce and cooked it in the oven for 2 and a half hours and it turned out soo tender and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States