Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was wonderful!!! And it makes the best lunch meat! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
it was so simple but had awesome taste even the next day on a sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The beef turned out really good...great with crusty Italian rolls and some provolone melted on top. Seasoned the roast well with salt & pepper, used a minimal amount of oil in the pan, browned it, then dumped everything (including the juices from the pan) in on low for 8-ish hours. That's the great thing about slow cooking...if you are running late, you don't have to freak out about exact cooking times! Great stuff...will definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very good recipe....my family REALLY enjoyed this. I cooked this in the crockpot & it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I use canned beef broth (low sodium) instead of boullion. Also, used olive oil and rosemary because I have a plant and love fresh rosemary. Great roast! My family loves it. I did leave out the crushed red pepper for my children's sake. Cooked on low in crockpot 8 hours. With about 1 hour left, I shredded the roast and put back in the juices. I also reserved 1/2 cup of juices and sauteed onions and bell pepper on the stove. We toasted whole wheat rolls and used slice provolone (the good imported stuff). Also fabulous the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I have never used a rump before and never will ever again. Even though i had it in a slow cooker for ten hours it had a bizarre texture not so good. Perhaps if the cut of meat was better this recipe would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This made fabulous gravy!Just added a little flour to the juice at the end, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe and my new favorite way to prepare a roast! I was nervous about cooking the roast in a kettle on the stovetop but I cannot believe how juicy and flavorful this came out. Gone are my days of making a roast in the oven. The only changes I made were to omit the salt (the bouillion adds enough salt) and I used 1/4c extra virgin olive oil instead of 1/2c vegetable oil. I let this simmer covered on the stove for about 3 hours and it was perfect. The gravy I made from the left-over liquid is an unexpected treat. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i suggest using fresh rather than dried ingredients. other than that, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used low-sodium beef broth and an 8oz can of tomato sauce in place of the water and bouillon cubes. I used the Italian dressing mix found on this website instead of the spices listed in the recipe. I used 2 tbsp. olive oil in the place of the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because I only had a 2 pound tri-tip beef roast on hand. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 5 hours on low....It was better than any other recipe I've used. Thanks for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States