Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Way to much seasoning. I guess I don't like Italian beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad's Deadly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this exactly how instructed! it was fabulous,thank u michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe halving the herbs, and it was still too overpowering for me. The red pepper flakes were omitted. I like Italian seasoning, but this was over the top. I made it in the crock pot and probably cooked it too long (about 8 hours) as it was dry. However, with the meat juices poured over it, it was better. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Did this in a cast iron pot. Came out very tender. Next time I will cut back on spices a little more. Other then that great way to cook a so called (cheap) cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I used more garlic, but other than that left it the same. Cooked in in the crockpot on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Guler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Too much water, the meat ended up really dry and felt more like boiled beef than roast. It would be better to sear the meat before putting it in the broth mixture. The seasoning, however, was great. I also added some cayenne pepper and mustard seed instead of the red pepper flakes, and fresh basil instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
YUMMY! Instead of using bouillon cubes, I used broth leftover from cooking some brats; omitted the oil and the whole part of coating the roast with oil and spices; I just tossed all of the spices in with the broth in the slow cooker and let it go for 4.5 hours, turning it half way through. So tender and tasty. And yes, it's spicy; but then again the pepper flakes are an optional ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I used Penzey's Italian dressing seasoning for the "Italian seasoning" and Better than Bouillon beef paste at 3 tsp instead of the cubes....THIS WAS SOOOO DELICIOUS! And now has been added to my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTILDA75

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe, but used chuck roast instead and cooked it in a dutch oven. Everyone loved it(I fed 11 people that day) I would suggest using chuck roast as it can handle a long cook time and is has a very beefy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was good, if a little on the strong side. Next time I will probably halve the ingredients for the same size roast so we can taste the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States