Italian Rice Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I have been looking for this simple rice pie recipe for years. It is delicious. I didn't have the grated lemon zest but it turned out exactly the way I remember by grandmother's did. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I LOVED it. I did add a 1/4 cup more rice to the recipe because I love it in puddings and pies. This pie is just the perfect amount of sweet and I love the smooth, creamy consitency of the ricotta cheese. THis is an inexpensive recipe to make and very easy. I will make this often. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
My mom used to bake this every year for Easter. She passed away 25 years ago, and when me and my husband made this Italian Rice Pie the other day, the whole house had that wonderful smell of my mom baking. Unfortunately, Mom wrote her recipes in Italian and I could never get it right... until now. Thanks! BTW, loved the pie and it's even tastier the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This pie was delicious! I had some trouble with the dough since it was my first time. I will definately make this a new Easter tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great pie - love that it makes two at once! One question - the ingredients list for the crust calls for 1/4 cup sugar, but the directions refer to 1/2 cup. I found the 1/4 cup to be fine, but just wanted to check and ask which is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My husband and I fell in love with an store bought Italian Rice pie when we lived in NJ. I found this recipe and decided to surprise my husband with it for Easter. It was a hit! I didn't make the pie crust this time, but will defintely give it a try. While the recipe turned out great, I would like to suggest that a time frame be put in Step 2. The recipe reads "until mixture thickens." Not having cooked a recipe like this before, I had no idea how long to cook it. A time frame would have been helpful, as a guide at least. But this is a new family favorite, sure to grace our table time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
It did take a long time to make in the kitchen. It didn't really take too long to prepare, but it took a long time to bake in the oven. But, it was delicious! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaItalia
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal and as close to being from Italy as you can get this side of the Atlantic. My Nonni, who came to the US during WWII, passed away a few years ago after being diagnosed with Alzheimer's. With her went many recipes including her Rice Pie. I found this recipe and last night I gave it a whirl, altering it only by using orange versus lemon and having to cook the rice a second time with whole milk instead of skim. Using her traditional pie plate, which looks more like a hammered tin bowl with straight sides, this double recipe made one pie. According to the recipe, you leave the pie open faced; her's was covered, so the extra dough was put to use. An hour into cooking, the crust was golden brown and to prevent the burning that many others have complained about, I covered the edge with a paper ring. Out of the oven, the pie smelt "right" and tasted exactly as they remembered. It was creamy and set up perfectly on the first try (my father warned Nonni threw out many of hers due to the center being runny). The crust was a great consistency and paired well with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time today, it took a longer to make than on the recipe but well worth the time. Only thing 1 quart of milk is too much espically if you are using that little rice. I cut it down to 2 cups of milk and it worked great. This tasted just like my mom use to make it brought back a lot of memories. Thans for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Simple and full of old world tradition - adding a lttle Ammaretto is a nice touch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States