Italian Rice Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
The pie was excellent, but the crust burned. Why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this recipe and I had the smae issues with the crust burning. I bought a "pie kit" and used the rim protectors included in the box. But I think it is because of the amount of sugar in the crust as well as the filling having to bake so long. Maybe a cup less of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My husband and I fell in love with an store bought Italian Rice pie when we lived in NJ. I found this recipe and decided to surprise my husband with it for Easter. It was a hit! I didn't make the pie crust this time, but will defintely give it a try. While the recipe turned out great, I would like to suggest that a time frame be put in Step 2. The recipe reads "until mixture thickens." Not having cooked a recipe like this before, I had no idea how long to cook it. A time frame would have been helpful, as a guide at least. But this is a new family favorite, sure to grace our table time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I LOVED it. I did add a 1/4 cup more rice to the recipe because I love it in puddings and pies. This pie is just the perfect amount of sweet and I love the smooth, creamy consitency of the ricotta cheese. THis is an inexpensive recipe to make and very easy. I will make this often. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
My mom used to bake this every year for Easter. She passed away 25 years ago, and when me and my husband made this Italian Rice Pie the other day, the whole house had that wonderful smell of my mom baking. Unfortunately, Mom wrote her recipes in Italian and I could never get it right... until now. Thanks! BTW, loved the pie and it's even tastier the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have not finished this recipe yet. The prep time lists 30 minutes. I have been preparing this for over an hour. The rice is still not thickened. If I had known, it would not have been a choice for me. Back to my old Italian Rice Cake. I am sure it will taste great, as I have been cooking for a very long time--but too much time in the kitchen. I will probably use the crust recipe though. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great pie - love that it makes two at once! One question - the ingredients list for the crust calls for 1/4 cup sugar, but the directions refer to 1/2 cup. I found the 1/4 cup to be fine, but just wanted to check and ask which is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I have been looking for this simple rice pie recipe for years. It is delicious. I didn't have the grated lemon zest but it turned out exactly the way I remember by grandmother's did. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time today, it took a longer to make than on the recipe but well worth the time. Only thing 1 quart of milk is too much espically if you are using that little rice. I cut it down to 2 cups of milk and it worked great. This tasted just like my mom use to make it brought back a lot of memories. Thans for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Simple and full of old world tradition - adding a lttle Ammaretto is a nice touch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States