Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
A fantastic "arancini" recipe as is, or doctored up (as is usually the case with me!). I added fresh garlic and minced red pepper for a surprise of color inside. AND, since my restaurant is a "no-fry" zone, I had to bake the rice balls – and they turned out perfectly! I gave them a nice coating of bread crumbs and then baked them on an oiled sheet till browned and crispy. Nice to know there's an alternative to frying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
These are so good I could eat them every day!! This is a good basic recipe and you can add stuff to it like mozzerella, peas, ground beef whatever you like with no problem. It helps to use arborio rice because it's stickier and helps the balls stay together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
These are great! When I make these I brown some ground beef and add a little tomato sauce to it, then I take a little rice in my hand, shape it into a ball, and then make a hole in the center to hold the meat and add a small cube of mozerella. Then I close it up with more rice. Finally, I roll it in the bread crumbs and fry!!! Yum Yum! (I also use arborio rice) I could eat these everyday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made quite a few changes to this recipe & had great results. I added some grated cheddar cheese and some green onions for more flavor. Then I made the mix into patties instead of balls, I mixed the parmesan cheese in with the bread crumbs & coated the patties. After that I panfried them in olive oil instead of deep frying. They were really good served as a side dish with chicken. Even the kids enjoyed them. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Vince, I made these for a friend of mine that was longing for Rice Balls like her Mother use to make (Her Mother has passed on) I have never made them before and I found this recipe and made them. I am not being dramatic here but she ate just one and her eyes welled up and she said " These are just like the one's my Mother made me" Thank you for an excellent recipe and for making my friends day! Sincerely, Mama Rizzuto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I don't know if it's just because I've never made these before or even know what they're supposed to look like, but I was very frusterated that after all that work, I was unable to even get the rice to go into balls. I wasted alot of expensive olive oil and they just fell apart even as I was dipping them. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!! I make these rice balls all the time, but a little differently. I add about 1/4-1/2 cup finely chopped onion, about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1-8oz. can tomato sauce, along w/ the other ingredients.If the mixture is a little too wet I add some extra parmesan cheese or breadcrumbs. I form them into balls and stuff a cube of mozzarella cheese into the center,sealing it completely inside, then fry until golden. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
What a great recipe. Very easy to make. I put a piece of motzarella cheese in the middle of the rice ball. I also used Italian bread crumbs for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I added Italian seasoning to the egg and cheese mixture. I also added a cube of mozzarella to the middle. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
So I played around with this a bit, & have a few suggestions. First off do NOT use parboiled rice (aka Uncle Ben's). You're just asking for a headache. I would recommend sushi rice, arborio, or even brown rice which is very sticky. Secondly, if you want to add flavor because a lot of people have said it's bland, I would recommend cooking the rice in chicken stock instead of water & using seasoned breadcrumbs. If your rice comes out not sticky this is a very easy recipe to "save". Add a little extra cheese & 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs into the rice mixture. I pan fried mine instead of deep-frying, definitely would not recommend baking them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States