Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!! I make these rice balls all the time, but a little differently. I add about 1/4-1/2 cup finely chopped onion, about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1-8oz. can tomato sauce, along w/ the other ingredients.If the mixture is a little too wet I add some extra parmesan cheese or breadcrumbs. I form them into balls and stuff a cube of mozzarella cheese into the center,sealing it completely inside, then fry until golden. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe sound great. After two failed tries, I gave up. Im not sure what I am doing wrong, but my lack of experience is probably to blame. I will keep it in my box and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
The balls are a bit difficult to make with the rice mixture and you really have to use a lot of bread crumbs to get them right. But once you have it.. they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I recently tried this recipe and it was a big hit in our kitchen! I served it with cream of chicken soup as a gravy over them, along with turkey meatballs. My family loved them, and they asked when we were having thim again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good recipe, but I did think it needed a little something more...maybe more cheese or some ground beef like I saw in some other's reviews? Also, the rice mixture was too watery, so I had to add a little breadcrumbs so that the balls would stay together. Overall - will definately make again, with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
to those having trouble with them falling apart: japanese rice might work. onigiri, rice balls, are really popular in japan and the glutenous rice really holds together well. i'd guess you could eliminate the egg in the mixture if you used it. make sure your hands are wet, so the rice won't stick to them, or just scoop one ball's worth of rice onto saran wrap and shape without ever touching it! (note: i didn't make these yet, but thought the tip might help. i'll re-review after making them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
These were great. I used seasoned breadcrumbs and fried in olive oil. Mixed a small amount of thawed frozen baby peas to the rice and served with homemade marinara sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
YOU MUST USE SAUCE. I have been making these all of my life with my mother and grandmother. You need to use a homeade tomato sauce (or store bought...whatever) to hold it all together. Just add enough to get the consistency right and the rice easy to roll up. In my family we put ground sauage in the mix and add a cube of fresh mozzerella cheese to the center. we roll the mixture in cheese and bread crumbs and fry...SO WORTH THE EFFORT. They will become a family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieMarie731

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
One of my favorite Italian restaurants serves rice balls, & I love them! I was so excited to see this recipe. My family was having spaghetti tonight, and I thought it was the perfect time to try making these.It was nice that we had all the ingredients for them...no produce or weird ingredients. I added a clove of garlic. I was running low on time, so I only refrigerated the rice mixture for 50 minutes, and I baked the balls in an oiled pan instead of frying them, because baking is more healthy. They were a litte crumbly, but that was probably because of not refrigerating them long enough. I should also have put more breading on them. Overall, they were great, & they taste almost the same as the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These were ok, but I doubled the amount of rice so the filler wasn't all bread crumbs. To those who complained of them being dry, try doubling the amounts of water and rice (2 cups) without making the mixture too mushy and they will turn out alright. You have to compact them tight and use less oil or else they will fall apart in the pan as our tester did, but overall these were lovely served on their own or as a substitute for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States