Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
what a great recipe easy to make and taste fantastic with the help from the other reviews i did use italian bread crumbs and stuffed it with mozzarella wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tried making these a couple of times and no luck at all. They didn't turn out the way my Dad use to make them, and they were very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Absolutely scrumptious! I packed some as a lunch for school and my friends couldn't stop asking for more. I fried them in corn oil with a wok and they turned out fine. I also needed to wait 45 minutes for the rice to cool instead of an hour. It also helps to keep the cheese mix in the fridge for at least 15 minutes before adding it to the rice. I used jasmine rice and it still stuck together. Brilliant recipe, I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
My kids loved these. My didn't turn out as pretty as the picture but they tasted great. I added a cube of colby/jack a to the center and added a few spices to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These were good but so very bland. It shocked me that 1 cup of rice could consume 4 cups of water. That's kind of what these tasted like, water. I added some spices and also baked mine off instead of frying. I definitely think if I make these again a healthy portion of cheese in the middle will help out. That and maybe cooking the rice in tomato sauce or with a bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Alot of hassle for something so mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe as directed, except that I added some shredded mozzarella to the rice mixture before forming the rice into balls. I liked it very much, but would make a few changes next time: 1. I would wait until the water was fully absorbed into the rice, because the balls flattened a bit when I tried to fry them; the mixture was too loose, even with the extra added cheese. 2. I would use plain vegetable oil in a deep fryer, or bake the rice balls on a well-oiled pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, turning them after 10 minutes. (The latter is what I wound up doing after my first batch burned in too-hot oil on the stovetop.) 3. I highly recommend the addition of extra mozzarella, either in cubes or shreds, and serving the rice balls with marinara sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH THESE ARE GOOD! My new favorite vegetarian entree! I used instant rice, with equal amounts of water and rice. I added extra Parm and some bread crumbs to rice mix for extra hold, and pepperjack cheese to the mix for some extra spice, as well as additional Italian herbs. I pan-fried with about 1 tablespoon of olive oil, which worked fine, and saved me from using a ton of expensive olive oil. They're delicious served with spaghetti sauce and a vegetable, because you get both the protein and starch in the balls themselves. TRY THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!! I make these rice balls all the time, but a little differently. I add about 1/4-1/2 cup finely chopped onion, about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1-8oz. can tomato sauce, along w/ the other ingredients.If the mixture is a little too wet I add some extra parmesan cheese or breadcrumbs. I form them into balls and stuff a cube of mozzarella cheese into the center,sealing it completely inside, then fry until golden. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe sound great. After two failed tries, I gave up. Im not sure what I am doing wrong, but my lack of experience is probably to blame. I will keep it in my box and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States