Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I recently saw Giada make something similar and am glad I found this recipe! Make sure you chill the rice mixture long enough or you will have a hard time making them into balls. I wish I had some chunks of cheese to add to the centers to make these balls even better! I put half of these in the freezer to fry up around the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This has become a regular request from my family, especially my brother. Really tasty and just right when eaten alongside pasta. I used jasmine rice and they turned out fine. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeyren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were definately a little bland the first time around, so the second time I cooked the rice in chicken stock with some garlic, and used seasoned crumbs with a few spices added in. And since i cringe at the thought of trying to deepfry ANYTHING in olive oil, I went with vegetable oil. also stuffed a chunk of mozzerela in the middle, and i might try putting some ground beef or italian sausage in it next time. these turn out pretty nice, you just need to tweak it to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These are okay. I've had these in Italy, and this recipe is really not like the authentic ones I've had or made before. I would definitely use seasoned breadcrumbs and/or add some Italian seasonings to it. This recipe is a little bland. I would also use mozerella, but that is more of a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
So I played around with this a bit, & have a few suggestions. First off do NOT use parboiled rice (aka Uncle Ben's). You're just asking for a headache. I would recommend sushi rice, arborio, or even brown rice which is very sticky. Secondly, if you want to add flavor because a lot of people have said it's bland, I would recommend cooking the rice in chicken stock instead of water & using seasoned breadcrumbs. If your rice comes out not sticky this is a very easy recipe to "save". Add a little extra cheese & 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs into the rice mixture. I pan fried mine instead of deep-frying, definitely would not recommend baking them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were very bland! I put mozzerealla cheese in the middle and tried to spice up the rice with some diffrent spices but Igot nothing. My fiance liked them and my friend said they might taste good with some ground pork in the middle. I might try to make them again with some ground pork in the middle but it does seem like a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made this recipe as shown except I used Italian Bread crumbs. I atempted to bake a few as one user posted but this didn't crisp the coating. I was able to fry the rest and they turned out GREAT! For me, being a healthy eater I wanted to bake them but frying was the only way to go and much Worth it! I doubled the batch for a party and the rice took longer to cool and I split into two bowls and put in fridge to cool down. The longer you cool the rice mixture the easier to create balls. This recipe as listed yeilds approx. 35-40 rice balls. Try them as posted first, then maybe play with new ingrediants if you feel necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
what a great recipe easy to make and taste fantastic with the help from the other reviews i did use italian bread crumbs and stuffed it with mozzarella wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tried making these a couple of times and no luck at all. They didn't turn out the way my Dad use to make them, and they were very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Absolutely scrumptious! I packed some as a lunch for school and my friends couldn't stop asking for more. I fried them in corn oil with a wok and they turned out fine. I also needed to wait 45 minutes for the rice to cool instead of an hour. It also helps to keep the cheese mix in the fridge for at least 15 minutes before adding it to the rice. I used jasmine rice and it still stuck together. Brilliant recipe, I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States