Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great recipe..wonderful appetizer. Served these on SuperBowl Sunday and everyone raved. Can be made ahead and reheated or frozen for another day. I used dried basil instead of parsley and chicken broth instead of water. (My home made broth made from the remains of a roasting chicken I bought at the warehouse store.) Throw all the leftovers in a pot with a gallon of water, a carrot, a piece of celery, a medium onion, bring to a boil and cook for a hour. Season, drain the broth into containters, discard the other remains. Cool and then freeze the broth for other uses such as this. I also insert a cube of mozzarella in each ball before rolling in italian seasoned bread crumbs. At this point the balls can be refrigerated and cooked the next day if you so desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonddee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I've made these several times - and they are frequently requested by all family and friends! They are simple to make, the only thing I changed, is I flavor my bread crumbs with fresh garlic, fresh parsley, and romano cheese. Also I omitted the parmesean cheese and use Romano instead. GREAT RECIPE, EASY TO MAKE - HIGHLY RECCOMEND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
these were good, but just too cheesy for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
These are great! Yea it takes a little time, but it was definatley worth it! These are one of the best i've tasted! I added american cheese and I think it tasted really good! I keep making them because there pretty easy! I probably had it about 8x over the past month and I CANT get over the taste! REALLY REALLY DELICIOUS=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I think I need to fry these instead of baking them, (I am getting a deep fryer for Christmas)and a great dipping sauce will go a long way. will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
These are so good I could eat them every day!! This is a good basic recipe and you can add stuff to it like mozzerella, peas, ground beef whatever you like with no problem. It helps to use arborio rice because it's stickier and helps the balls stay together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Although this recipe is time consuming, it is relatively simple to make. I used long grain rice, 'cause that was all I had, and omitted the parsley, adding a tablespoon of italian seasoning instead. These turned out awesome! The balls were a little salty for my taste, however, I don't usually put salt in recipes. I will definately be making these again! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I have never made these before, nor have I had these before. It didn't wow me like I had hoped after reading all of the reviews. The rice stayed together well and presented well. I thought the flavor would be more pungent than it was. I think I will tinker with the seasoning amounts and try again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Very good recipe. Make sure you use a small grain rice as it will hold together much better. I also found that letting the mixture sit for about fifteen minutes also helped. Thanks Vince!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I added Italian seasoning to the egg and cheese mixture. I also added a cube of mozzarella to the middle. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States