Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
One of my favorite Italian restaurants serves rice balls, & I love them! I was so excited to see this recipe. My family was having spaghetti tonight, and I thought it was the perfect time to try making these.It was nice that we had all the ingredients for them...no produce or weird ingredients. I added a clove of garlic. I was running low on time, so I only refrigerated the rice mixture for 50 minutes, and I baked the balls in an oiled pan instead of frying them, because baking is more healthy. They were a litte crumbly, but that was probably because of not refrigerating them long enough. I should also have put more breading on them. Overall, they were great, & they taste almost the same as the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These were ok, but I doubled the amount of rice so the filler wasn't all bread crumbs. To those who complained of them being dry, try doubling the amounts of water and rice (2 cups) without making the mixture too mushy and they will turn out alright. You have to compact them tight and use less oil or else they will fall apart in the pan as our tester did, but overall these were lovely served on their own or as a substitute for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Well, I don't know what went wrong with this recipe. I followed it as written, but my results were hardly worth a picture (though I took one anyway). They fell apart while frying, and my end result was 8 little balls that survived. Not impressive. The taste was rather bland, and I'm disappointed I wasted a good amount of olive oil to fry these. Sorry for the poor review, but I do not recommend this recipe. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
These were not my favorite. turned out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I was very pleased to come across the recipe while searching for recipes containing rice. I used arborio rice and followed the recipe exactly and it yielded perfect results! You can easily fry with vegetable oil or a mixture of olive and vegetable oil. I stuffed the inside with ground beef from sauce, and some defrosted frozen peas, with a cube of mozzerella or fontina. Next I will put ham and cheese inside. Just a perfect recipe that I thoroughly enjoyed making. Tried it two days in a row. I broke them open and served them with sauce over the top and grated cheese! The best ever!!! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
MY CHILDREN ARE VERY PICKY BUT THEY BOTH LOVED THIS RECIPE. MY HUSBAND IS A BIG MEAT EATER AND HE SAID THE NEXT TIME WE HAVE THESE, I DON'T HAVE TO FIX A MEAT DISH. WOW!!! I DID ADD MOZZ CHEESE AND ITALIAN BREADCRUMBS AS SUGGESTED. ONE THING I DID THAT I DID NOT NOTICE ANYONE ELSE DOING, I ADDED MILK TO THE MIXTURE TO HOLD THEM TOGETHER AND I DID NOT ROLL THE BALLS IN BREADCRUMBS, I ADDED THE BREADCRUMBS TO THE MIXTURE. THEY TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. Very nice. Everyone liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zabbar, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Beautiful presentation (I used a cookie scoop to make balls so they were uniform). I will make again, but I found them to be a little bland. Maybe some cayenne? I did add garlic, but will try to punch up the cheese by using something tangy-er.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
i tried this recipe added chopped green peper and mushrooms. it was delicious. The only thing i would chang about the recipe is the salt. From 1 teaspoon to half a teaspoon. Dip the rice balls in some sauce...IT WAS DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
My family just loved these, though they were a bit of a pain to form into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States