Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were very bland! I put mozzerealla cheese in the middle and tried to spice up the rice with some diffrent spices but Igot nothing. My fiance liked them and my friend said they might taste good with some ground pork in the middle. I might try to make them again with some ground pork in the middle but it does seem like a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made this recipe as shown except I used Italian Bread crumbs. I atempted to bake a few as one user posted but this didn't crisp the coating. I was able to fry the rest and they turned out GREAT! For me, being a healthy eater I wanted to bake them but frying was the only way to go and much Worth it! I doubled the batch for a party and the rice took longer to cool and I split into two bowls and put in fridge to cool down. The longer you cool the rice mixture the easier to create balls. This recipe as listed yeilds approx. 35-40 rice balls. Try them as posted first, then maybe play with new ingrediants if you feel necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
what a great recipe easy to make and taste fantastic with the help from the other reviews i did use italian bread crumbs and stuffed it with mozzarella wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tried making these a couple of times and no luck at all. They didn't turn out the way my Dad use to make them, and they were very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Absolutely scrumptious! I packed some as a lunch for school and my friends couldn't stop asking for more. I fried them in corn oil with a wok and they turned out fine. I also needed to wait 45 minutes for the rice to cool instead of an hour. It also helps to keep the cheese mix in the fridge for at least 15 minutes before adding it to the rice. I used jasmine rice and it still stuck together. Brilliant recipe, I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
My kids loved these. My didn't turn out as pretty as the picture but they tasted great. I added a cube of colby/jack a to the center and added a few spices to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These were good but so very bland. It shocked me that 1 cup of rice could consume 4 cups of water. That's kind of what these tasted like, water. I added some spices and also baked mine off instead of frying. I definitely think if I make these again a healthy portion of cheese in the middle will help out. That and maybe cooking the rice in tomato sauce or with a bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Alot of hassle for something so mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe as directed, except that I added some shredded mozzarella to the rice mixture before forming the rice into balls. I liked it very much, but would make a few changes next time: 1. I would wait until the water was fully absorbed into the rice, because the balls flattened a bit when I tried to fry them; the mixture was too loose, even with the extra added cheese. 2. I would use plain vegetable oil in a deep fryer, or bake the rice balls on a well-oiled pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, turning them after 10 minutes. (The latter is what I wound up doing after my first batch burned in too-hot oil on the stovetop.) 3. I highly recommend the addition of extra mozzarella, either in cubes or shreds, and serving the rice balls with marinara sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH THESE ARE GOOD! My new favorite vegetarian entree! I used instant rice, with equal amounts of water and rice. I added extra Parm and some bread crumbs to rice mix for extra hold, and pepperjack cheese to the mix for some extra spice, as well as additional Italian herbs. I pan-fried with about 1 tablespoon of olive oil, which worked fine, and saved me from using a ton of expensive olive oil. They're delicious served with spaghetti sauce and a vegetable, because you get both the protein and starch in the balls themselves. TRY THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States