Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were really good. I baked them instead of frying them and my kids thought they were great. Not enough seasoning for my taste - next time I will add something more to the rice, maybe even cook it in some chicken stock. I also think it's important to say that you do not cover the rice while cooking it. That is way, way too much water to put a lid on the pot, it needs to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except I had to use red wine instead of white because that is all I had on hand. A little time consuming but well worth the effort. My family enjoyed these very much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnchamp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooklover
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I love this recipe... I'd made this two times now and i will do it more and more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Fool proof, I did not expect these to turn out as well as they did. I used Uncle Bens rice because it was what I had on hand but luckily read some reviews and took advice to add a little more cheese to make them stick together better. I did add some more seasoning just for personal taste and found that having really wet hands helped a lot when shaping! Very happy with this recipe, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Growing up with my Italian Grandmother we never had much money and everything was "stretched" out. We ate these all the time but they weren't balls they were flat and fried in oil till crisp then turned. We called them Fletal and they were made from leftover rice/cheese soup. Using the leftover soup (with the broth drained) made them absolutely flavorful and delicious, looking forward to Saturday nights with them. The soup was a chicken broth with rice, then parmagon cheese was added and an egg. We also called it sick soup as when we had a cold in the winter it would warm you up from the inside out. Take the leftover soup, add an egg, lots more parm cheese. salt, pepper, garlic and then make into 4-5" patties and fry flipping once browned. These are good the same day and not as good left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
wanted to make them for Christmas Eve but figured Id try them out before hand. Being italian I remember my great grandmother making them...They were great!! I used Arborio Rice(stickier), and chicken broth instead of water.Seasoned with garlic,parsley,parmesan cheese,and added mozzerella cheese in center of rice before rolling into balls. I also used Panko-italian seasoned bread crumbs...May try to to mix up different things but such a great easy recipe as is..Great Grandma would of loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added a cup of mozzarella to the rice mixture and a bite size of meatball in the center, rolled in the breadcrumbs. I then just threw them in the deep fryer at 360 degrees for 3-5 minutes and they were delish. will make them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I tried the aborio (sp) rice and found that a bit too sticky. I then tried carolina rice which worked out fine. If the mixture turns out a bit to loose, I just add more bread crumbs. When rolling the rice balls I stick a cube of mozzarella and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
very easy recipe but needs to have more of a cheese flavor and remeber to use plain breadcrumbs if you use italian seasoning. In addition, you can put the rice in the freezer to cool it quicker. Over all I am giving this a 4 since my hubby is still eating them as we speak lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
i would not make this again i didnt find them tasty or good i followed the recipe and it didnt seem to pan out sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States