Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bricemom
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I think they turned out nicely...I did add a little Italian seasoning, but other than that, I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
First time I've made these, they were very good. I added some shredded mozzarella cheese. My only tip is be careful when frying them. Wow did it make a mess! You definitely should use a splash screen! But they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serena
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great recipe!! Mouth watering Arancini!! I used Italian bread crumbs which consists of breadcrumbs, parmigiana cheese, and pieces of parsley. I made it together with another recipe: "cordon bleu chicken", which is featured in my photo. Great mix up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a very traditional croquette recipe from southern Italy. My mother use to make them just like this (minus the black pepper). You need to chill them for several hours before you are able to properly form them into croquette or ball shapes or they will fall apart. Once they are in the oil don't disturb them until they are golden on one side and then gently roll them over to avoid them falling apart. I have also sprayed them with olive oil and baked them in the oven to make a large batch of them without using so much oil and taking so much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Instead of cooking rice, this is my go to recipe to use leftover rice. I skip the cooking part and these are great for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was really good! After reading some reviews, this is something you can definitely modify. Didn't have parmesan cheese, I used shredded mild cheddar cheese and added the breadcrumbs with the egg mixture. I also used boil in the bag rice. Once I put the items all together, I let it sit in the fridge for one hour. I had a separate bowl with breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, garlic powder and flour. Formed the rice mixture into small patties and coated then with the breadcrumb mix. For a dipping sauce I used cocktail sauce which was really good. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were really good. I baked them instead of frying them and my kids thought they were great. Not enough seasoning for my taste - next time I will add something more to the rice, maybe even cook it in some chicken stock. I also think it's important to say that you do not cover the rice while cooking it. That is way, way too much water to put a lid on the pot, it needs to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except I had to use red wine instead of white because that is all I had on hand. A little time consuming but well worth the effort. My family enjoyed these very much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnchamp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooklover
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I love this recipe... I'd made this two times now and i will do it more and more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Fool proof, I did not expect these to turn out as well as they did. I used Uncle Bens rice because it was what I had on hand but luckily read some reviews and took advice to add a little more cheese to make them stick together better. I did add some more seasoning just for personal taste and found that having really wet hands helped a lot when shaping! Very happy with this recipe, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States