Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I WAS GOING TO SUBMIT THIS RECIPE IF NO ONE ELSE HAD! THIS STUFF IS FANTASTIC - LIKE THE ONE SERVED AT THE OLIVE GARDEN. I ADD APPROXIMATELY 3-4 TBS OF SUGAR BECAUSE I DID FIND IT TO BE TOO TART. AND BEST OF ALL, IT'S RELATIVELY LOW FAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This is excellent and really does have the same appeal as the Italian restaurants. Simple, tasty and quick.I also added 2 TBS. sugar. I did find by refrigerating it overnight it thickens up and the flavors really blend together. Yummy! Thanks for ending my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This tasted nothing like olive garded dressing..i added extra sugar like others and it still didn't help with the taste :( I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
My husband took one bite and spent it back out. I didn't realize how strong this dressing is. I don't think any amount of added sugar could of helped this. I can't imagine any restaurant serving such a bad tasting dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wonderful! My husband gave it 5 stars (and he's kind of picky about salad dressings)! Before adding sugar as other reviewers suggested, I tasted it, and it was perfect just as written; for us, the corn syrup was just enough sweetener. Definately will go into my permanant files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I really enjoyed this dressing. I served it in a tossed salad when company came over, and everyone raved about it. My grandfather even asked me for the recipe. I think that it would also be great on a pasta salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT recipe, not too tart at all as is. I used mayo with olive oil (by kraft), some white balsamic vinegar, and canola oil in place of veg. oil. It turned out super. Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I didn't have white vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, I used garlic powder instead of actual garlic, I added 1 tsp of sugar, and I whisked it instead of using a blender. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I held back a star just because without a little sugar, this is really tart. After adding about 2 Tbsp., though, it was perfect. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was pretty....not good as written. I ended up adding 1/2 cup of sour cream to cut down on the tartness and make it something we would eat. This is not one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States