Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I didn't have white vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, I used garlic powder instead of actual garlic, I added 1 tsp of sugar, and I whisked it instead of using a blender. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This dressing is okay. I cant say that I find any similarity to any italian restaurant that I have ever been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I held back a star just because without a little sugar, this is really tart. After adding about 2 Tbsp., though, it was perfect. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We added 3 T of sugar after reading the reviews. This was a little too much sugar for us. It was a good dressing, but I wouldn't compare it to Olive Garden ... too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wonderful! My husband gave it 5 stars (and he's kind of picky about salad dressings)! Before adding sugar as other reviewers suggested, I tasted it, and it was perfect just as written; for us, the corn syrup was just enough sweetener. Definately will go into my permanant files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I really enjoyed this dressing. I served it in a tossed salad when company came over, and everyone raved about it. My grandfather even asked me for the recipe. I think that it would also be great on a pasta salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
My husband took one bite and spent it back out. I didn't realize how strong this dressing is. I don't think any amount of added sugar could of helped this. I can't imagine any restaurant serving such a bad tasting dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This is excellent and really does have the same appeal as the Italian restaurants. Simple, tasty and quick.I also added 2 TBS. sugar. I did find by refrigerating it overnight it thickens up and the flavors really blend together. Yummy! Thanks for ending my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I WAS GOING TO SUBMIT THIS RECIPE IF NO ONE ELSE HAD! THIS STUFF IS FANTASTIC - LIKE THE ONE SERVED AT THE OLIVE GARDEN. I ADD APPROXIMATELY 3-4 TBS OF SUGAR BECAUSE I DID FIND IT TO BE TOO TART. AND BEST OF ALL, IT'S RELATIVELY LOW FAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States