Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I didn't have white vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, I used garlic powder instead of actual garlic, I added 1 tsp of sugar, and I whisked it instead of using a blender. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This dressing is okay. I cant say that I find any similarity to any italian restaurant that I have ever been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I held back a star just because without a little sugar, this is really tart. After adding about 2 Tbsp., though, it was perfect. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We added 3 T of sugar after reading the reviews. This was a little too much sugar for us. It was a good dressing, but I wouldn't compare it to Olive Garden ... too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wonderful! My husband gave it 5 stars (and he's kind of picky about salad dressings)! Before adding sugar as other reviewers suggested, I tasted it, and it was perfect just as written; for us, the corn syrup was just enough sweetener. Definately will go into my permanant files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I really enjoyed this dressing. I served it in a tossed salad when company came over, and everyone raved about it. My grandfather even asked me for the recipe. I think that it would also be great on a pasta salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
My husband took one bite and spent it back out. I didn't realize how strong this dressing is. I don't think any amount of added sugar could of helped this. I can't imagine any restaurant serving such a bad tasting dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This is excellent and really does have the same appeal as the Italian restaurants. Simple, tasty and quick.I also added 2 TBS. sugar. I did find by refrigerating it overnight it thickens up and the flavors really blend together. Yummy! Thanks for ending my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I WAS GOING TO SUBMIT THIS RECIPE IF NO ONE ELSE HAD! THIS STUFF IS FANTASTIC - LIKE THE ONE SERVED AT THE OLIVE GARDEN. I ADD APPROXIMATELY 3-4 TBS OF SUGAR BECAUSE I DID FIND IT TO BE TOO TART. AND BEST OF ALL, IT'S RELATIVELY LOW FAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States