Italian Restaurant-Style Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I loved this dressing, it was very good. Be careful with the oregano,depending on what kind you have it can easily overpower everything else. I didn't have pectin and I used sugar (dissolved into the vinegar)instead of corn syrup so it wasn't very thick -just toss it in your salad just before you serve if you make it like I did. Tasted just like I remember a famous Italian Resteraunt chain serves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
So I am guilty of not using pectin, and am going to store to see if I can find it, tastes great, just thin. Also I have subsisted minced garlic for powdered because I read from a chef that fresh garlic changes. But I enjoyed making this, most ingredients I had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Scolaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I didn't add the water and because I'm against corn syrup, I used REAL maple syrup! If you don't have Romano cheese, use parmesan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alia Haig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe - very tasty! I substituted 6 packets of Splenda instead of corn syrup. I did use fresh squeezed lemon but will try reconstituted next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Good taste, almost creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is easy and very tasty. I did cut way back on the salt. I only put in 1 teaspoon and it was plenty for me. I do agree it is restaurant-quality. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was great! Im so glad I made it. Because of all the mixed reviews, I was afraid mine would fail like so many others did. I was wrong. Tasted very similar to Olive Gardens. So refreshing and delicious! I followed others' ideas and blended the vinegar and lemon juice first, then added the rest. Definitley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This turned out like watered down milk (in appearance). The taste was NOTHING like an Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I like to substitute olive oil for vegetable or canola oil. It is thicker and a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. It really does taste quite similar to O.G's - wish I had seen this recipe when I was craving their salad while pregnant (and lived 45 min away). I'm not loving the corn syrup, as we try to avoid GMO ingredients. Might experiment with agave nectar or honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States