Italian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
White vinegar is the wrong choice--better for cleaning; and 15 minutes is not enough if you don't like somewhat raw potatoes. I had to salvage this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very tasty. Added some dried basil for another level of taste. We like this better with red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a classic Italian salad, my Nonna also would make this as well as my dad :) Those people that say it has a strong vinegar taste, YEAH, that's what it's supposed to taste like !!! Great recipe, don't forget the salt and pepper. Sometimes I add thinly sliced fresh onion rings, YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I really like this recipe, I am already tired of potato salad and summer hasn’t even started. This is a nice light change. I like the vinegar, but agree more garlic and some seasonings are a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
In addition to the parsley, I used tarragon and rosemary (1/3 cup total with each herb in equal proportions), which I think gave it more of the flavors I remember from studying abroad in Italy. Also, I disagree with those who say the vinegar was too strong. It is not supposed to taste like traditional cream based potato salads, so don't expect it to. The vinegar was just right for me, maybe even not enough. Perhaps those people used white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar? I chose white balsamic, and someday when I have more money, I will splurge and try it with a gourmet bottle of champagne vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very disappointing...too much vinegar. I made ahead to marinate and even tried warming. My family would not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I liked this recipe, but made some changes: 1) Left the skins on (healthier) 2) Added green onions 3) More garlic 4) More parsley 5) Cayenne (it makes almost everything better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've been looking for a recipe like this for a while. A friend of mine from Argentina made something very similar, but he served his warm, added salt and didn't use garlic that I could tell. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I make a version of this recipe as a hot potato dish...I thin slice, usually red skin, Yukon, or whatever you have on hand...put them in a micro safe bowl, twist of sea salt, chopped onion(we prefer sweet/or red), garlic...I like to use fresh basil, and/or oregano(if you don't have fresh at least rub the dry in your hands, it will make the flavor burst!)I think these herbs are more Italian, I lived there, "the early years"...the big finish, and EVOO!I cover the bowl with one of those vented made for covering thingies, I can't tell you for how long 'cause I don't know the wattage/quantity...common sense, let them "rest", take the top off, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese! They will not lack flavor, I'm making the cold/room temp. for a picnic in the mountains. tomorrow TMI...The potatoes are healthy...I make them for 2-4 in the micro. I boiled them for a crowd stove top...hint skins have most of the vitamins/potatoes off the charts with potassium...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Just like my boyfriends mom makes except she also add's mint!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States