Italian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
this is agood recipe,especially in the summertime. I would only add a couple of things, though. I would use a little less vinegar, and bring it to room temp. before you serve it. Tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I am not a fan of mayo so I have been making my potato salad this way for years. My nonna used to make it just like this too! The longer it 'marinades' the better though it's not completely necessary if you need it sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Too much vinegar. Loved the garlic and added celery. If I make this again I will cut the vinegar way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I make a version of this recipe as a hot potato dish...I thin slice, usually red skin, Yukon, or whatever you have on hand...put them in a micro safe bowl, twist of sea salt, chopped onion(we prefer sweet/or red), garlic...I like to use fresh basil, and/or oregano(if you don't have fresh at least rub the dry in your hands, it will make the flavor burst!)I think these herbs are more Italian, I lived there, "the early years"...the big finish, and EVOO!I cover the bowl with one of those vented made for covering thingies, I can't tell you for how long 'cause I don't know the wattage/quantity...common sense, let them "rest", take the top off, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese! They will not lack flavor, I'm making the cold/room temp. for a picnic in the mountains. tomorrow TMI...The potatoes are healthy...I make them for 2-4 in the micro. I boiled them for a crowd stove top...hint skins have most of the vitamins/potatoes off the charts with potassium...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I liked this recipe, but made some changes: 1) Left the skins on (healthier) 2) Added green onions 3) More garlic 4) More parsley 5) Cayenne (it makes almost everything better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Wouldn't make again. Too strong of a vinegar taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
In addition to the parsley, I used tarragon and rosemary (1/3 cup total with each herb in equal proportions), which I think gave it more of the flavors I remember from studying abroad in Italy. Also, I disagree with those who say the vinegar was too strong. It is not supposed to taste like traditional cream based potato salads, so don't expect it to. The vinegar was just right for me, maybe even not enough. Perhaps those people used white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar? I chose white balsamic, and someday when I have more money, I will splurge and try it with a gourmet bottle of champagne vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I love this recipe, although I do add some sweet onion and red bell pepper and plenty of salt and pepper, and leave the skins on. Fresh herbs such as basil, oregano, or rosemary would be good too, but I wouldn't use dried for this recipe, they wouldn't do it justice! But it is also fine as -- sometimes less is more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is the best italian potato salad we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've been looking for a recipe like this for a while. A friend of mine from Argentina made something very similar, but he served his warm, added salt and didn't use garlic that I could tell. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States