Italian Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this sandwich was INCREDIBLE! I love Portabello sandwiches and this was SO easy and delicious. I'm a new vegeterian so this will definately become a fave of mine. I actually toasted the sourdough bread with the provolone cheese in the toaster oven so the cheese was niely melted. I also added a shake or two of oregano to the basil mayo in addition to the fresh basil. Also I tossed the roasted peppers in the skillet for the last two minutes of cooking, just enough to get them hot. I admit it was a bit sloppy to eat but totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Excellent sandwich! My husband and I are new vegetarians and this meal makes us glad we are. Very quick and easy to make and tastes delicious. I only used a fraction of the mayo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I tried this and modified it a bit. I added a bit of whorstechire and garlic w/ mushrooms and fried onions separately. Additionally, I used a sub roll instead to make it more like a cheesteak and added a bit of horseradish to the spread and it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These were excellent! My boyfriend and I both loved them. I mixed the basil and mayo ahead of time and chilled it for about an hour to blend the flavors. We used all of the mayo that was called for because our bread was sort of dry. Try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I thought this was very tasty.Even my husband who hates mushrooms liked this.The only problem is that it is not kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was the best sandwich that I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed these sandwiches! I served them on hard rolls instead of sourdough. I loved the basil mayo. I think I would make it ahead of time and let the flavors blend but it was still very good. I'd also would heat up the red peppers with the mushrooms so the temperature of the vegatables was consistent throughout the sandwich. We'll have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
really, really, really good!...may marinate the mushrooms a bit first next time, but a wonderful recipe the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
these sandwiches were soooo good! I made the mayo ahead, for better flavor. I also used fontina instead of prov. and toasted the bread and cheese in the oven, and added the rrp at the end of cooking the mushroom mixture. I will def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Good eats! I added the peppers to the pan just long enough to warm them. Didn't even use cheese and though messy, it was wonderful (as most messy things are).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States