Italian Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this sandwich was INCREDIBLE! I love Portabello sandwiches and this was SO easy and delicious. I'm a new vegeterian so this will definately become a fave of mine. I actually toasted the sourdough bread with the provolone cheese in the toaster oven so the cheese was niely melted. I also added a shake or two of oregano to the basil mayo in addition to the fresh basil. Also I tossed the roasted peppers in the skillet for the last two minutes of cooking, just enough to get them hot. I admit it was a bit sloppy to eat but totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed these sandwiches! I served them on hard rolls instead of sourdough. I loved the basil mayo. I think I would make it ahead of time and let the flavors blend but it was still very good. I'd also would heat up the red peppers with the mushrooms so the temperature of the vegatables was consistent throughout the sandwich. We'll have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Prepared for a vegetarian meal and wife and I both loved this. I also added the peppers to the mushrooms just to bring up to temp. Also added just a sprinkle of balsamic vinegar at the end. Great recipe Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I tried this and modified it a bit. I added a bit of whorstechire and garlic w/ mushrooms and fried onions separately. Additionally, I used a sub roll instead to make it more like a cheesteak and added a bit of horseradish to the spread and it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I sauted mushrooms, onions, sliced red peppers, & garlic together. Served on pita pocket instead of sourdough bread, and used shredded mossorella. More friendly for those of us who are weight watching. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Not exactly what I was expecting....there wasn't as much as a mushroom taste as I would have liked, and the mayo and bell peppers seemed a little overpowering. If I were to make it again, I would warm up the peppers a bit, and slightly toast the bread in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Absolutely fantastic! I substituted fresh red peppers for the bottled roasted peppers and sauteed them along with the mushrooms and onions, and it worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Very nice light meal~ the onions and mushrooms (not a pepper fan) were really flavorful... I didn't even really need the basil-mayonnaise, next time I'll probably do without. Am making this again soon with the leftover mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Awesome! I used basil pesto in place of the basil mayo because I needed to use it up and it was great! I am making them again tonight. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Great recipe! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and heated the red peppers with the mushrooms and onions. I also shredded the provolone and heated it with the vegetable mixture (helps the messiness by make everything stick together a bit) until it bubbled. In the future I would slice the mushrooms thinner and cut the peppers into smaller pieces so that you get a bit of each flavor with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States