Italian Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I sauted mushrooms, onions, sliced red peppers, & garlic together. Served on pita pocket instead of sourdough bread, and used shredded mossorella. More friendly for those of us who are weight watching. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Absolutely fantastic! I substituted fresh red peppers for the bottled roasted peppers and sauteed them along with the mushrooms and onions, and it worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Instead of making a sandwich, I grilled the onion & mushrooms & added them to pasta w/marinara sauce. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
My girlfriend and I thought this receipe was great. It was easy to fix and tasted wonderful. We will definately be having it again. I used pita bread and put them between paper towels int he microwave to make them soft. I also left out the onion by request of my girlfriend and they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RO66YB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
i'm still in the process of cooking the recipe....but it seems like the recipe called for too much mayo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was the best portobello mushroom sandwich ever. The basil mayo and provolone cheese give it a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
my husband and I loved these :)though the recipe calls for way too much mayo for us . we only used about 1/2 the amount of mayo/basil called for . These are excellant and we will be making them again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this sandwich was INCREDIBLE! I love Portabello sandwiches and this was SO easy and delicious. I'm a new vegeterian so this will definately become a fave of mine. I actually toasted the sourdough bread with the provolone cheese in the toaster oven so the cheese was niely melted. I also added a shake or two of oregano to the basil mayo in addition to the fresh basil. Also I tossed the roasted peppers in the skillet for the last two minutes of cooking, just enough to get them hot. I admit it was a bit sloppy to eat but totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Excellent sandwich! My husband and I are new vegetarians and this meal makes us glad we are. Very quick and easy to make and tastes delicious. I only used a fraction of the mayo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I tried this and modified it a bit. I added a bit of whorstechire and garlic w/ mushrooms and fried onions separately. Additionally, I used a sub roll instead to make it more like a cheesteak and added a bit of horseradish to the spread and it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States