Italian Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I sauted mushrooms, onions, sliced red peppers, & garlic together. Served on pita pocket instead of sourdough bread, and used shredded mossorella. More friendly for those of us who are weight watching. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Absolutely fantastic! I substituted fresh red peppers for the bottled roasted peppers and sauteed them along with the mushrooms and onions, and it worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Instead of making a sandwich, I grilled the onion & mushrooms & added them to pasta w/marinara sauce. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
My girlfriend and I thought this receipe was great. It was easy to fix and tasted wonderful. We will definately be having it again. I used pita bread and put them between paper towels int he microwave to make them soft. I also left out the onion by request of my girlfriend and they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RO66YB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
i'm still in the process of cooking the recipe....but it seems like the recipe called for too much mayo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was the best portobello mushroom sandwich ever. The basil mayo and provolone cheese give it a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
my husband and I loved these :)though the recipe calls for way too much mayo for us . we only used about 1/2 the amount of mayo/basil called for . These are excellant and we will be making them again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this sandwich was INCREDIBLE! I love Portabello sandwiches and this was SO easy and delicious. I'm a new vegeterian so this will definately become a fave of mine. I actually toasted the sourdough bread with the provolone cheese in the toaster oven so the cheese was niely melted. I also added a shake or two of oregano to the basil mayo in addition to the fresh basil. Also I tossed the roasted peppers in the skillet for the last two minutes of cooking, just enough to get them hot. I admit it was a bit sloppy to eat but totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Excellent sandwich! My husband and I are new vegetarians and this meal makes us glad we are. Very quick and easy to make and tastes delicious. I only used a fraction of the mayo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I tried this and modified it a bit. I added a bit of whorstechire and garlic w/ mushrooms and fried onions separately. Additionally, I used a sub roll instead to make it more like a cheesteak and added a bit of horseradish to the spread and it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States